Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2009, 08:51 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default will 64kb clusters give better playback then 4kb clusters?

I have been asking around different websites reading and asking for advice about building HTPC and at one website some one said that I should do this
Quote:
at least a 750gb formatted NTFS and using the 64kb clusters (not the default 4kb) The 64kb clusters will give better playback of video files. My HTPC has 4 hard drives (1 bootdrive, 3 storage drives). Make sure all the hard drives have fans blowing on them.
no I am not very familiar at how a hard drive actually works but will there be any significant difference buy doing this?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2009, 10:16 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,099

My System Specs

Default

Sounds pretty silly to me. An HDD is never going to be the bottleneck for watching videos. No matter the cluster size.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2009, 10:23 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,987

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Sounds pretty silly to me. An HDD is never going to be the bottleneck for watching videos. No matter the cluster size.
Exactly.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 06:05 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

I didn't think it matter at all.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 07:58 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,062

My System Specs

Default

Might be better for recording (writing to the disk), but not playback...
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 09:37 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

I thought that but Like I said I have know real knowledge of how hard drives work lol
thank you for the info
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 11:09 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

When your drive gets fragmented it will make a difference. Read 4kb block, move read 4kb block, move. Read 64kb, move, read etc...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2009, 01:08 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

Easy fix, use a filesystem that doesn't fragment that easily.

As for NTFS cluster sizes, the only time I can see it becoming an issue with playback of video files is if you're playing back files with a high bitrate and you need to move data off of the drive fast. In that case, I think RAID0 would help things even more.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2009, 06:03 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
When your drive gets fragmented it will make a difference. Read 4kb block, move read 4kb block, move. Read 64kb, move, read etc...
yes we all no the facts i think what he's asking will you be able to see a difference in it's use. not all all on htpc they tend to only do 1 thing at a time.jmo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2009, 08:51 AM
TopDogZero's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

NTFS file system will defrag in background in Vista or if you don't like Vista's defrag utility or if you have XP then run something like IoBit SmartDefrag set it and forget it (sounds like that infomercial ) and it's free .
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about video playback Generic User #2 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 April 27, 2009 03:13 PM
So, any last ideas before I just give up? donimo Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 34 February 26, 2009 10:54 AM
Anyone willing to give me a hand? Nodscene Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 30 November 25, 2008 04:27 PM
Audio and Video skipping during playback WMP and Nero Showtime Eagle Eye Troubleshooting 3 September 17, 2008 02:39 PM
what will give me the best results? andynerd Video Cards 0 August 2, 2008 02:38 PM