Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 10:53 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default my old JVC amp humms how do I get rid of that

I have had this older JVC receiver for a long time I have my pc sound card out put plugged into it also my TV but I am getting this hum from the thing I know that it is a ground problem is there something I can do to lose that hum, you can only here it when the volume is turned down, but I use myt head phones most of the time and I really don't like that hum
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 11:23 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

there are three things i would suggest.

1) is your PC and Receiver powered from the same phase? I.E. either through the same circuit breaker or through a circuit breaker on the same side of your power panel? This is huge if your devices (receiver and PC) are connected using analogue audio cables.

2) ground the two units together. believe it or not, most receivers have a grounding screw on the back of their cases. You can string a simple insulated wire from your PC to your receiver to help stop the humming. I know crazed perfectionist audiophiles who ground all of their sound equipment together through a cookie sheet. It's proven on an oscilloscope to eliminate any unwanted noise entering their sound systems because of power issues. Trust me, this guy was my electronics professor.

3) i have a hunch you are using an analogue connection between your PC and Receiver. If your PC and receiver are digital capable (either Optical or PCM) GO DIGITAL DUDE!!! If you can connect the two digitally it will fix the problem and you can ignore points 1 and 2 entirely.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 11:48 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grinder View Post
there are three things i would suggest.

1) is your PC and Receiver powered from the same phase? I.E. either through the same circuit breaker or through a circuit breaker on the same side of your power panel? This is huge if your devices (receiver and PC) are connected using analogue audio cables.

2) ground the two units together. believe it or not, most receivers have a grounding screw on the back of their cases. You can string a simple insulated wire from your PC to your receiver to help stop the humming. I know crazed perfectionist audiophiles who ground all of their sound equipment together through a cookie sheet. It's proven on an oscilloscope to eliminate any unwanted noise entering their sound systems because of power issues. Trust me, this guy was my electronics professor.

3) i have a hunch you are using an analogue connection between your PC and Receiver. If your PC and receiver are digital capable (either Optical or PCM) GO DIGITAL DUDE!!! If you can connect the two digitally it will fix the problem and you can ignore points 1 and 2 entirely.
I would only go digital if the receiver is more than a few years old otherwise the dac on the soundcard could very well be better than that of the receiver.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2009, 01:43 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

You might consider a UPS with some form of a line conditioner to improve the qaulity of power coming into the unit.

BTW what is it thats causing the problem?

EE
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2009, 03:21 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I had that problem. In my case it was actually the surge protector I was using. I removed it and the hum was gone.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2009, 07:36 AM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,513
Default

+1 on grinders suggestion to physically ground the two units together.

---

This may or may not completely eliminate the problem.

If it doesnt , goto a car audio store and buy a 'ground loop isolator' , they are about 25$......

I had to do both myself , 100% hum free now.



edit @ EE :

The problem is 'ground loops'.....While the concept of 'ground' suggests they are all at the same potential , they rarely are.....with sound equipment , the 'chassis ground' and the 'signal ground' are often different.....the hum is the result of these different potentials.

More info :

Ground loop problems and how to get rid of them
__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...

Last edited by BrainEater; July 20, 2009 at 07:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2009, 09:07 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainEater View Post
+1 on grinders suggestion to physically ground the two units together.

---

This may or may not completely eliminate the problem.

If it doesnt , goto a car audio store and buy a 'ground loop isolator' , they are about 25$......

I had to do both myself , 100% hum free now.



edit @ EE :

The problem is 'ground loops'.....While the concept of 'ground' suggests they are all at the same potential , they rarely are.....with sound equipment , the 'chassis ground' and the 'signal ground' are often different.....the hum is the result of these different potentials.

More info :

Ground loop problems and how to get rid of them
that is what I used to do for all my vehicals is take a coil of copper and connect have the ground go through the copper coil I wasn't sure if that would work here but I will try all of the ideas thanks people.
could I just run a nice thick wire from the ground of the reciever into the ground of the powerbar, ground of the power bar meaning the third hole not one of the two side by side holes.

also a UPS are not they expensive?

Last edited by Shadowmeph; July 20, 2009 at 09:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2009, 03:50 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

it would be best to link the two directly Shadowmeph; to improve the signal's reference point.

line conditioners are good, but i dont know about a UPS. The variable load of the amplifiers could lay waste to the UPS, they really can draw a lot of current.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 10:28 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grinder View Post
it would be best to link the two directly Shadowmeph; to improve the signal's reference point.

line conditioners are good, but i dont know about a UPS. The variable load of the amplifiers could lay waste to the UPS, they really can draw a lot of current.
I am not sure what a line conditioner is .
oh I forgot to mention that the sound out from my PC goes to my tv then from the tv to my AMp ( receiver) so would it be better to take the ground from my receiver( amp) and run it to my TV?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 06:28 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

it is better to run the audio from the PC to the AMP then to the TV, and run the common ground cable between the PC and AMP.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Camera: JVC Everio HDD Camcorder GZ-MG360BU DavidDemise Buy/Sell & Trade 1 June 9, 2009 02:07 PM
Updates & Current Changes to Buy & Sell rules sswilson Buy/Sell & Trade 24 March 18, 2009 06:41 PM
how to get rid of dust? magictorch Water Cooling 12 July 2, 2007 07:59 PM
JVC Releases Blu-Ray Media Gav Storage 3 December 9, 2006 06:34 PM