Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2009, 07:49 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,879

My System Specs

Default

Well you see any 8400GS has CUDA support and since CoreAVC now uses CUDA, that means the GPU can do a very large chuck of the decoding regardless of the actual HD-decoders within the GPU.

And the only ATI GPU thats PCI (that I can find at least) is the 2400 Pro which I don't think is really any better.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2009, 09:21 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

no matter what you stick in there, you're going to be limited by the 133mb/s limitations of the PCI bus :(
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2009, 12:13 AM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 578

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Well you see any 8400GS has CUDA support and since CoreAVC now uses CUDA, that means the GPU can do a very large chuck of the decoding regardless of the actual HD-decoders within the GPU.

And the only ATI GPU thats PCI (that I can find at least) is the 2400 Pro which I don't think is really any better.
Wow, I logged in at 3am, just to thank you for that tip, I received 8400GS today (G98), purchased CoreAVC and run H.264 video test, the CUDA kicked in and CPU usage dropped from 100% to 40-50%!

Look, all it takes, a 6 years old PC, $60 PCI card, $20 codecs and I have a monster machine that can decode high resolution video without breaking a sweat, probably for the next 5 years. A miracle.

With fanless card the noise from PC is almost non existent.

Last edited by artistpavel; March 28, 2009 at 12:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2009, 03:34 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,879

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artistpavel View Post
Wow, I logged in at 3am, just to thank you for that tip, I received 8400GS today (G98), purchased CoreAVC and run H.264 video test, the CUDA kicked in and CPU usage dropped from 100% to 40-50%!

Look, all it takes, a 6 years old PC, $60 PCI card, $20 codecs and I have a monster machine that can decode high resolution video without breaking a sweat, probably for the next 5 years. A miracle.

With fanless card the noise from PC is almost non existent.
Glad to hear it worked out as planned
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2009, 06:44 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

artistpavel yo, i was wondering were you playing 1080P on that P4 with the 8400gs?

i got a 2400pro and i can't seem to get it to work :S

might be due to the PCI slot.

when i had a x1650pro AGP it decoded 720 with extra room. 60%-85%

P4 specs
2.6ghz
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2009, 08:19 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,879

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
artistpavel yo, i was wondering were you playing 1080P on that P4 with the 8400gs?

i got a 2400pro and i can't seem to get it to work :S

might be due to the PCI slot.

when i had a x1650pro AGP it decoded 720 with extra room. 60%-85%

P4 specs
2.6ghz
Needs to be a NVIDIA card that supports CUDA so that you can run CoreAVC w/ CUDA enabled. Then you should be more than able to play 1080p content.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 05:07 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 948
Default

Looks like I showed up a bit late. I actually found that the Combined Community Codecs used less resources than CoreAVC. Combined Community Codec Pack

May be worth making a comparison
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 06:55 AM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 578

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
artistpavel yo, i was wondering were you playing 1080P on that P4 with the 8400gs?

i got a 2400pro and i can't seem to get it to work :S

might be due to the PCI slot.

when i had a x1650pro AGP it decoded 720 with extra room. 60%-85%

P4 specs
2.6ghz
CoreAVC + Nvidia CUDA made me run 720 content with 40-50% of Pentium4 2.8 Ghz utilization, I didn't have 1080p movies to try, but it looks like there's enough room for it.

I'm currently building new e5200, HTPC, this time however I'm using PCE-E version of 8400GS. CoreAVC + CUDA combination dosn't work on 64 bit system for me though.

Hardware acceleration doesn't really matter for me now, since I'll be using XBMC for movies and it doesn't support GPU offloading, I paid for 2 cores and I want them to flex the muscle.

Last edited by artistpavel; August 26, 2009 at 10:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 12:02 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nodscene View Post
Looks like I showed up a bit late. I actually found that the Combined Community Codecs used less resources than CoreAVC. Combined Community Codec Pack

May be worth making a comparison
the CCCP now uses MPC-HC, they have a lot of fixes compared to the no longer updated MPC.

But for H.264 files using CoreAVC + cude is so much simpler

Quote:
Originally Posted by artistpavel View Post
CoreAVC + Nvidia CUDA made me run 720 content with 40-50% of Pentium4 2.8 Ghz utilization, I didn't have 1080p movies to try, but it looks like there's enough room for it.

I'm currently building new e5200, HTPC, this time however I'm using PCE-E version of 8400GS. CoreAVC + CUDA combination dosn't work on 64 bit system for me though.

Hardware acceleration doesn't really matter for me now, since I'll be using XBMC for movies and it doesn't support GPU offloading, I paid for 2 cores and I want them to flex the muscle.
Thanks for your input

i had a 8400gs PCI a few months back but i refuse to purchase the coreavc. But after seeing your results on your g98 i picked up a 9400gt PCI + coreavc to test if it can play 1080P h.264. Crossing my fingers

I only have Final fantasy advant children for 1080p

will post results when soon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video/Graphics card upgrade tmoses Video Cards 4 March 1, 2009 01:25 PM
[WTB] Looking for HD3470 video card for HTPC Nemesis Destiny Buy/Sell & Trade 10 December 31, 2008 04:47 PM
[FS] Upgrade time MB, CPU & video card aimndtel Buy/Sell & Trade 15 November 28, 2008 08:54 PM
time to upgrade the video card Beermaster Video Cards 3 November 27, 2008 02:39 PM
Video Card Upgrade evancolson Video Cards 8 May 24, 2008 03:12 PM