Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2009, 01:32 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

The 4550 seems to be at the top of everybody's list for an HTPC video card :P

It's the one i'm going to stick in mine (low profile variant).
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2009, 06:45 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

OK i don't understand PQ.

It's interesting that Nvidia hasn't stepped up to the plate on the TV side of things... I mean honestly... ATI dominates in this department. I hated the fact that running native res 720 was over scanned on desktop and fine for media center. I honestly thought i didn't have a 720 TV. Intrestingly enough ATI reports my TV as 1080p but i can't read the text on desktop at that res.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2009, 07:00 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,070

My System Specs

Default

Only complaint I have with the ATI cards I've used in my HTPC is that if i switch to a different input on my receiver when I switch back a lot of the time the display will remain blank. Also if you switch inputs if any '3d' app is running it will almost always quit responding. Happened with both the 4870's and 4550. But never with the 8800GT's or the GTX295.

Also ATI's h.264 acceleration is weak compared to Nvidia's.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2009, 08:26 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HaDeS View Post
OK i don't understand PQ.
PQ = Picture Quality
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2009, 11:15 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks... and I agree its better
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2009, 11:17 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Only complaint I have with the ATI cards I've used in my HTPC is that if i switch to a different input on my receiver when I switch back a lot of the time the display will remain blank. Also if you switch inputs if any '3d' app is running it will almost always quit responding. Happened with both the 4870's and 4550. But never with the 8800GT's or the GTX295.

Also ATI's h.264 acceleration is weak compared to Nvidia's.
That might be ati's hardware recovery thing... sorry not sitting on an ATI right now so i can't look. Disable it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you Sli 2 different cards- element291 Video Cards 24 February 27, 2009 11:50 AM
[WTB] Video Cards trayton Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 10, 2009 03:49 PM
2 vid cards ???? WolfBane Video Cards 8 February 2, 2009 08:16 PM
XFX to sell ATI cards Jonwall Press Releases & Tech News 18 December 27, 2008 07:36 PM
TV Tuner Cards Wein13 Video Cards 0 September 19, 2008 09:54 PM