Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 02:36 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,105

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
ugh. don't get me started on nero recode. About the only thing it does right is simplicty. Im experience nero recode can suffer from audio out of synch and unless you pay more money for 5.1 audio codecs it will take your wonderful 5.1 or 7.1 audio and convert it into 2 channel pcm. no thanks.

to low fat: btw automkv uses an auto setting for the thread count. Which i think basically uses as many cores as it can for threads. It usually takes me around 1-3hrs to completely convert and create a MKV file from the dvd's i am converting. There are a TON of options in the program and allows to just do a direct stream copy for the audio tracks. supports 2 audio tracks and subtitles as well. I would check it out and give it a whirl. BTW the movies i am encoding are being done on a stock e8400.
No luck with automkv, it quits responding as soon as I try to do anything with it.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 02:39 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

are you on vista ?

if you are you need run it as administrator otherwise it can't get the proper file locks. Also i have had issues with it as of late when the audio is a DTS bitstream.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 02:55 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,105

My System Specs

Default

Using Windows 7. Tried running as an admin as well, still no go.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 02:57 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Using Windows 7. Tried running as an admin as well, still no go.
Darn, one last thing you could try would be to run it in compatability mode. Other than that it probably doesn't support a beta / rc OS.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 03:55 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Is this not something you can't just use Vegas for?
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 06:14 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,105

My System Specs

Default

I tried using Vegas, but it would crash on launch lol.

Also tried the tmpgenc xpress trial, which can't output to MKV or any h264 format *sigh*. I think I am running out of options here.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 06:30 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

I was following this thread and I have to admit I don't do too much of this stuff but I use Mediacoder for similar stuff I do:
MediaCoder - more than a universal audio/video transcoder

Honestly don't know if it will meet you requirements, but it is multithreaded, supports MP4, etc.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 06:34 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,105

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
I was following this thread and I have to admit I don't do too much of this stuff but I use Mediacoder for similar stuff I do:
MediaCoder - more than a universal audio/video transcoder

Honestly don't know if it will meet you requirements, but it is multithreaded, supports MP4, etc.
Will give it a try. It is my last hope. If I can't get it to work I'll just leave everything uncompressed
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 06:37 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,082

My System Specs

Default

I'm not sure about commercials, but as for multithreaded, I do know that the Divx codec can use all of my 4 cores. I am not sure about 8 but I believe it should. As long as you have that codec you should be able to use whatever program you want as long as it allows you to choose which encoder to use.

I have used virtualdub mod (for mkv), virtualdub, adobe premiere pro, and a few others with decent results.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 09:28 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,105

My System Specs

Default

Well I tried the Mediacoder but would get an error a few seconds after trying to start encoding. So back to Handbrake. However I dropped my CPU clocks back to stock, and it is using all 8 threads now. Hopefully it won't crash.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
z550 cutting in and out? Cadence Audio 36 March 17, 2009 09:39 PM
Annoying Commercials BALISTX Off Topic 12 November 11, 2008 07:24 AM
Asus N10, Specs and Videos. ziikutv Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 8, 2008 04:32 PM
Internet keeps cutting. Kayen Networking 10 October 20, 2008 09:14 PM
PC vs MAC commercials Dwayne Off Topic 26 September 25, 2008 06:44 PM