Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 20, 2009, 11:22 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

Default HTPC OS?

Just wondering what my options are and what people like. I started using ubuntu/mythbuntu but I'm a linux newb and I don't really have the time to invest to learn it and set it up. I'm not sure if I'd be giving up any features or benefits going to a M$ solution. I know the software isn't free but Looking at all the time I've spent just to do simple setup tasks with linux, I don't see it as a bad tradeoff.

Opinions?
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Old February 20, 2009, 11:51 AM

My System Specs

Are you recording TV or anything?
Bluray playback or no?
What are you using for an audio solution?

I myself just use Vista 64-bit. And for software use Media Center for library playback and BeyondTV (paid software) for recording.
You could always use XMBC for a Media front end (runs on Windows). Although it doesn't support multi-channel analog audio, which is a deal breaker for me.
Old February 20, 2009, 12:11 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

I don't have any pressing need to record TV but would like that option. I've read that it can be done through the IEEE1394 port on my HD box (SA 4250HD) but I haven't looked into the specifics of it.

Primary functions will be music and Bluray. My mobo has HDMI onboard (Asus P5E-VM HDMI w/E3110 & 2x1GB PC6400)

I don't have a soundcard picked out yet but the two I'm considering are HTOmega Claro Plus or the Claro Halo XT. The audio solution isn't carved in stone yet. I have a HK AVR235 that in the end will probably power the CC and rear L&R, and the front mains for now. I will be making an amp to handle the two main front's for extra power for music. Not sure how I'm going to steer the signals around yet but will probably also have to make a preamp to make that possible.
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
Old February 20, 2009, 12:26 PM
Folding Captain