Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 02:48 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

I managed to get everything working on my 9800GTX+, with the realtek codec I had to set it to HDMI out put as the default sound device. I also had the SPDIF patch cable in backwards >.<
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 07:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default

HI did all of the above including install of all the latest realtek drivers but no sound except through digital coax. I thaught of uninstalling all drivers and reinstaling.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2009, 09:12 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

not sure if this counts or not but i was able to get 5.1 output on my hdmi connector. But there are a couple caveats.

1. It's an onboard HDMI port so i am not if this applies to hdmi over dvi.
2. MKV's still get no love

I did the following to get mine to work in sage tv.

1. Installed Nvidia Pure Video, Configured the audio to output to spdif.
2. Installed K-Lite Mega Pack
3. Set sage tv to use the dvd decryptor as the one included in the codec pack and the audio to the nvidia one.

DVD's - 5.1 audio works
ATSC - 5.1 audio works
MKV - 2.1 audio works, 5.1 doesn't.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2009, 07:01 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
I have tried to get this to work before. Granted it was on an ati based card. The most i could ever get to work was 2 channel sound. 5.1 never worked properly. If it were me and your computer has either digital coax or toslink fiberoptic just use that and save the headache.
You would need 3rd party software for 5.1 sound...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 07:16 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,880

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
MKV - 2.1 audio works, 5.1 doesn't.
Try using AC3Filter? Should work I'd think. As long as you can disable all the other AC3/DD/DTS audio codecs you have.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 07:17 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Try using AC3Filter? Should work I'd think. As long as you can disable all the other AC3/DD/DTS audio codecs you have.
tried and could never get it to work properly with DTS streams. DOLBY works fine never got any love from DTS.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No HDMI sound from my P5E-VM biff O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 January 8, 2009 06:45 PM
WTB: Video Card/Sound Card/Hard drive - Look here if u gotz some ! Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 4, 2008 09:27 PM
LF-Cheap ATI video card that can output sound through HDMI. Gunner86 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 November 2, 2008 05:19 PM
Auzentech X-FI HT 7.1 HDMI card pics and specs Robscix Audio 14 November 1, 2008 04:31 PM
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio is not really a X-FI sound card dirtfarmer Audio 15 January 2, 2008 07:15 PM