Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2009, 09:03 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lima View Post
What does STB stand for?
set top box
Set-top box - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2009, 10:31 AM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default

Aha. So... the STB's suck, or the tuner cards?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2009, 11:02 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

Well if you use a STB you can't use a tuner card. You need a capture card. And yes they are all pretty bad at the time. It is better to go w/ a PVR from by your cable/satellite provider.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2009, 11:19 AM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default

Just realized something. Gonna go see what hapens when I plug my TV in without the STB, then I'll know what I'll need to do this. BBL
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2009, 01:03 PM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default

I'll be ok with just a tuner in my pc for now. All the chanels I want are still available straight from the wall.

What's wrong with the capture cards, where do the fall short? With the STB doing all the decoding, how could they fail in the process of bringing the picture to the PC's monitor? Or, is it the software that sucks?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
using my HDTV as a monitor. Bucklaz Display Units 11 December 28, 2008 12:36 AM
HDTV image cuts out howettl Troubleshooting 1 August 2, 2008 02:21 PM
PCTV HD Pro Stick HDTV Tuner ?? frosty Peripherals 0 April 13, 2008 05:04 AM
Connecting PC to a HDTV. werty316 Display Units 3 April 7, 2008 05:22 PM
How to hook up to HDTV? LegendofJubei Display Units 15 December 7, 2007 11:02 PM