Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 01:32 PM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default HTPC help (display problems) ....!

Hey guys, first off, here's the gear used:

Mobo: Biostar TForce 570 SLI (AM2)
CPU: x2 3600+ brisbane
Memory: 4 gig corsair PC2-5300
Videocard: Sapphire HD3650, connected over HDMI to my LCD tv, in 720p

My problem(s): I've been using this HTPC to play NHL 2008, streaming/downloading/playback of media, etc... Everything worked flawlessly.

Now, I get a nasty virus (my girlfriend's episode of Gray's Anatomy was infected) and had to reinstall from scratch.

So upon the first boot to windows, after a fresh install, I'm greeted with garbage on screen, as in I can't see sh*t through the mish-mash of colors. I reboot, go into safe mode and tweak the resolution somehow.

Long story short, I end up successfully installing the latest ATI drivers and Catalyst control panel and I can boot to windows in 720p.

Now, I install NHL2008, and low and behold, every time I try to play, the game boots the the freakin' mish-mash of colors and I end up having to reboot. I cannot get this game to work, at all.

Can anyone help?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 01:48 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

did you touch the vga at all? sounds like static damage to one ram chip.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 03:00 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

what resolution is the game set for?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes