Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2008, 08:43 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default HDMI Audio Issue

Ok so this is driving me up and down the wall. Basically i can only get 2.1 audio from the HDMI adapter i am using on my HD3450. It doesn't matter what the source is. Video works fine. I was then like ok fine i will try using a dedicated sound card for 5.1 sound. But my reciever doesn't like that. Is it because my card is entry level or is it something more insidious. I really don't want to have to buy a new reciever for more connectors (i refuse to use a switch box)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2008, 08:59 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

What OS are you using ?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2008, 09:01 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yamawho View Post
What OS are you using ?
Bet its vista
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2008, 09:01 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

please update HDMI audio driver from realtek site.

737-32277: AC3 (Dolby Digital/DTS) Audio Playback Issues when using an HDMI Receiver


The information in this article applies to the following configuration(s):
  • ATI Radeon™ HD3000 series
  • ATI Radeon™ HD2000 series
  • Grey DVI-HDMI Adapter (Part Number: 6140063500G)
  • Black DVI-HDMI Adapter (Part Number: 6141054300G)
  • Windows Vista 32-bit Edition
  • Windows Vista 64-bit Edition
Symptoms:
AC3 (Dolby Digital/DTS) multi-channel audio which is typically available to end-users who connect their ATI Radeon™ HD2000 or ATI Radeon™ HD 3000 series to an HDMI Audio/Video receiver with HDMI decode capabilities is not functioning correctly with specific software players.
Solution:
  1. Make sure you have the correct setup as below:

  2. On www.realtek.com.tw click on "HD Audio Codec Driver" under Quick Links
  3. Download ATI HDMI Audio Device Driver Version R1.68
  4. Install the driver and restart your system
  5. Open "Control Panel" and double click on "Sound"
  6. Select "Playback" tab
  7. Right click on “Realtek HDMI Output“
  8. Select "Set as Default Device“ (Green Checkmark will appear)
  9. Click on “Properties”

  10. Select “Supported Formats” tab
  11. Checkmark “Dolby Digital” box
  12. Highlight “Dolby Digital” option
  13. Click on “Test” button

  14. Check the display panel of your HDMI Receiver for:
    * Dolby Digital/DTS indicator
    * 5 Speaker Surround indicator
    * If 5 speakers connected, each speaker will have its own sound output


Now you can run your application to play the movie in 5.1 surround (Dolby Digital/DTS):
For High Definition Content:
  • Corel WinDVD 8 Gold or Platinum
    • Right click on WinDVD main screen and select "Setup"
    • Select “Audio” tab
    • Select “HDMI” under “Audio Output Configuration”
    • Select “6 Channel (5.1 Home Theater)” under “Audio Speaker Configuration”



  • PowerDVD Ultra 7.3 with HD DVD/Blu-Ray Patch
    • There is an issue with this version of PowerDVD playing High Definition content in AC3 (Dolby Digital/DTS). Please contact Cyberlink for support.
For Standard Definition Content:

  • Catalyst Media Center
    • Select "SPDIF" in Audio Settings/Speaker Environment


  • PowerDVD 7.0
    • Select "Use SPDIF" under "Audio" tab




The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. AMD reserves the right to revise this information and to make changes from time to time to the content hereof without obligation of AMD to notify any person of such revisions or changes.
AMD MAKES NO REPRESENTATIONS OR WARRANTIES WITH RESPECT TO THE CONTENTS HEREOF AND ASSUMES NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR ANY INACCURACIES, ERRORS OR OMISSIONS THAT MAY APPEAR IN THIS INFORMATION. AMD SPECIFICALLY DISCLAIMS ANY IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR ANY PARTICULAR PURPOSE. IN NO EVENT WILL AMD BE LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY DIRECT, INDIRECT, SPECIAL OR OTHER CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES ARISING FROM THE USE OF ANY INFORMATION CONTAINED HEREIN, EVEN IF AMD IS EXPRESSLY ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGES.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2008, 09:14 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

i am running vista ultimate. Also when doing the tests it works fine but when playing back say a 5.1 mkv file it doesn't output in 5.1. i hae tried it in the following software packages with no luck

Catalyst MC
Media Player Classic
Media Portal
Media Centre
Sage TV

i will try it again tonight
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2008, 09:28 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

Wow, great post cadaveca
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2008, 09:31 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

I'll also add that you should be using a grey adapter with that card, not the black one. The black one is for 2xxx series, grey for 3xxx. Swap them around and you should even get a msg saying that all audio functions are not available.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2008, 10:09 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

i am using a grey adapter
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2008, 10:46 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Also, current realtek driver version is 2.09.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2008, 11:57 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

thanks for the heads up. i will give it a try tonight. One question should i remove the current ati video drivers or does that matter.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes