Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2008, 03:43 PM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default Looking to Pick up a Blu-Ray for my TV PC

Hi all....... I really interested in the idea of getting myself a Blu-Ray player for my TV PC.Here"s my spec"s
Samsung HPT 4264 Plasma (Wall Mount)
Pc consist"s of the following:
A 2.1 gig system Capable of running Vista Ultimate 64 bit,
loaded with a PCIe 800xl video card.
Right now I am use to a ps3 Hooked up to my Plasma via a HDMI cable.So I am kinda hoping to be able to to get the same result"s out of this pc as I am use to with my son"s ps3.
Is this possible and if so can you reccomend a player I can buy off the Canada Computers web site?
Canada Computers - Your Neighbourhood Computer Store and Service Centre - PC Systems and Hardware Components, Notebooks, Electronics, and more.
Thx guy"s
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2008, 04:05 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,798

My System Specs

Default

x800xl does not do video acceralation AFAIK. So no it won't work without a new videocard. You'll need at least a 2400XT or an 8600GT. I use a Canada Computers - CD/DVD/RW /Blu-Ray Drives > Blu-Ray Drives : LG GGC-H20L Blu-Ray HD DVD Combo Drive BD-R 6x/HD DVD-Rom 3x/16x DVD+/-R Lightscribe SATA W/Software. for a player, however it is like $30-$40 cheaper at NCIX generally.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2008, 07:26 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

one other thing you should look into if the drive/your pc will support profile 2.0 for blueray.

Also since it looks like you will need software and a new videocard you might want to consider picking up a PS3 as they are relatively cheap, support profile 2 and can output with HDMI. Plus it's a ps3 so you can game in HD glory :)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 12:37 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,798

My System Specs

Default

Pretty sure all PC drives support all versions of blu-ray. It isn't very hard to update firmware on a drive either.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 02:32 AM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
one other thing you should look into if the drive/your pc will support profile 2.0 for blueray.

Also since it looks like you will need software and a new videocard you might want to consider picking up a PS3 as they are relatively cheap, support profile 2 and can output with HDMI. Plus it's a ps3 so you can game in HD glory :)
That is exacly what I was thinking, just keep saving my pennies and get a ps3.
Alot less hastle.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 03:13 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

But, dont Ps3 games suxORS compared to a PC game?
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 05:04 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

well you tell me. How much money would you have to spend to get your games to run at full 1080p resolution flawlessly ?
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2008, 01:13 AM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
well you tell me. How much money would you have to spend to get your games to run at full 1080p resolution flawlessly ?
That"s what I was thinking aswell!
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2008, 06:44 AM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

I"ll have to snap some photo"s of this system and put it in the Buy and Sell forum.Thx guy"s.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 11:20 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 19
Default

It depends on what kind of games you want to run. A budget gaming rig for ~$500 I built this past spring with a 780g mobo, X2 5000+BE (stock speeds), 2GB ram, and 9600gt ran Bioshock at 1080P with all settings maxxed out and rarely dropped off from the 60fps cap. GRID and Crysis needed to turn some eye candy down to run well at 1080P, but a $500 system (including cheap case and PSU) today should be able to handle those same games without issue.. well, ok, maybe not Crysis, but it's a horribly coded game.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes