Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2008, 06:49 PM
cwestwell's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NWT
Posts: 675
Default

The Hauppauge WinTV PVR 150 is a popular one that doesn't cost to much for the card remote bundle.
__________________
_______________________________________________

E8600 420x10 |Thermalright 120 Black | Maximus Formula | ATI 4870X2 | 4GB Buffalo FireStiX PC8500 | Corsair HX1000 | Lian Li V2010B | Vista Ultimate 64bit


Q6600 334x9 |Thermaltake Blu Orb | ASUS P5Q-PRO| ATI 2900XT | 6GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400 | Corsair HX520 | Lian Li V600B | Vista Home Premium 64bit

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2008, 06:39 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 481
Default

FWIW, there are a bunch of tuners that do clear QAM (digital cable). However, most providers encrypt all the channels other than the channels that can be recieved via analog anyway.

It is possible to hook up a QAM tuner after the HD box to recieve all the channels, but at that point, it's probably just as easy to plug the HD box straight into the monitor/sound card.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2008, 12:02 PM
slugbug's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal Area
Posts: 538
Default

The ATI TV WONDER 650 PCIE looks pretty good.
__________________
Fractal Define XL|NZXT Hale 90 750w
MSI X79A-GD45|Core i7 3820
NZXT Havik 140|4 x 4 Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
OCZ SOLID 3 SSD|Seagate 1.0TB
2 X EVGA GTX 460 in SLI
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2008, 09:10 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 167
Default

I am using a system close to cmetaphor's with a pci-express ati 650 pro and Vista home premium hooked up to a bell reciever, Non-HD. Works well with the remote and does change channels and records well with the MCE guide. The recorded quality isn't the greatest but I can watch/record tv from my desktop in the background while doing other things. Works good when I want to watch the game while the wife is watching something else. (with two reciever's, one for the compter, one for the TV.) Or watch one thing and record another. Does what I wanted it to do...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2008, 08:44 AM
Lithotech's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Vancouver Rain Belt
Posts: 409
Default

I had thought the problem with digial TV or Sat box and TV tuners is that the TV tuner cannot receive the HD signal, it only gets analog Standard Def. But should still get all the channels?

I was also told that the SlingBox will get around this, and feed HD vid to the computer. Not sure if the TV tuner card comes into this scenario.

.
__________________
eVGA 680i SLI (A1) P31
Intel Q6700 Kentsfield | Scythe Ninja-B | Antec Tri-Cool 80cfm
4GB (4x1024MB) Corsair Dominator 8500
boot: 4x WD Caviar SE16 250gb SATA2 Raid-0
backup: Seagate 500gb 32mb SATA2
eye: eVGA 9800GTX+ SC 512mb 770/2.25ghz
candy: Samsung 940B-HAS | X-Fi XMusic | Pioneer DVR-212D SATA
juice: PC Power & Cooling 750Quad | Cooler Master HAF932
steering: Logitech G15 & G5 | E3D Pro/Momo Wheel | X-530's
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes