Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2008, 09:15 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default Using the Gpu 2 client with Nvidia Hardware ? Here some tips

Hey guys just thought id share a few tips i have found thru my testing of the F@Home Nvidia client im not sure if it will be the same for the Ati client.

1. To get the most amount of PPD only Overclock your Shaders the Memory and Core clock do not seem to give you a higher PPD. ( Energy Saving Tip)

2. (Testing) Cpu core clock does not affect PPD either currently have my cpu downclocked to 1.7 ghz using the Asus Epu-6 Engine software.
Personally i like the software but i would have liked if there was more control of the voltages for the Cpu,Nb as using the turbo mode limits you to depending how high you have left your cpu voltage in your bios. ( Energy Saving Tip)

E3110 @ Stock 3.0ghz and Xfx 8800gt overclocked only on shaders @ 1850

Project 5504(Gives most amount of ppd then the rest)
Project 5504 = 5924.57-PPD and ETA = 1 HOURS 59 MINS

Project 5015(Gives least amount of ppd then the rest)
Project 5015 = 5385.97-PPD and ETA= 2 HOURS 8 MINS


Testing/ Tested cpu at the following:

*E3110 @ 1.7ghz - Results in same ppd on the project but adds 4-6 mins on projects
*E3110 @ 1.8ghz-
*E3110 @ 1.9ghz-
*E3110 @ 2.0ghz- Results in same ppd on the projects but adds no extra time.

*Testings in progress
Basically what this means if everything turns out the way i imagined it would, you can have a bunch of cheap low powered dual core cpus folding with high end Nvidia cards as the Nvidia client gives more ppd then the Ati one for optimal folding.

More tips to come if i find any basically trying to conserve as much energy for anyone that cares.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.


Last edited by Dashock; September 6, 2008 at 12:03 AM. Reason: Name Change
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2008, 09:26 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I have only my shaders OCed to 1875 and get anything from 5500 PPD to 6100 PPD
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2008, 09:41 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

My shaders die at 1862 so i have them a little less than that you have a good card.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2008, 09:46 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

If you have a single gpu and want even more ppd then run the GPU on core 2 and run a single session console on core 1 and you'll get like 400 more ppd.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2008, 09:49 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Good tip Enaberif i havent used the cpu client myself as i think i get more outta the Nvidia client and its more efficient but nevertheless a good way of getting more ppd.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2008, 09:53 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dashock View Post
Good tip Enaberif i havent used the cpu client myself as i think i get more outta the Nvidia client and its more efficient but nevertheless a good way of getting more ppd.
Of course you'll get more.. but any bit counts and if I can get another 400 I'll take it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2008, 09:58 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Yeah my card overclocks well. if I want to get high benchmarks can get it at 785/1825/2025.
but running fold I just OC the shaders to its best clock which is 1875. 1900 it runs but I think that's pushing it to much...lol
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2008, 05:56 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,770

My System Specs

Default

im doing 5800 PPD.. I should try to oc my shader a bit more :P
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2008, 06:11 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,402
Default

Doesn't the GPU2 client work for both Nvidia and ATI cards? Correct me if I'm wrong...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2008, 06:31 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 741

My System Specs

Default

Yes, it works on both, I am folding on a 2900XT, 3650 AGP and 8800GT OC all with the same client.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770 (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Intel X25-M 160GB, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes