Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #71 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 06:58 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

lol id offer my services but i am not godly in your skills of reviewing!
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 06:59 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Yup...I really think it is the xxx.84 drivers and later with CUDA support
Pre xxx.84 drivers worked only on the 98xx and newer cards unless you modded the .inf file IIRC, it was explained in one the threads around somewhere. xxx.84 was when they enabled CUDA for the older cards. My 9800GTX still runs fine on the 177.35 drivers and is very stable...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 07:59 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,828
Default

Well, I have an 8800 GTS 512MB folding in my old AMD 3800+ s939 system. Taking 50% CPU usage but that is to be expected I guess. Overclocked to 2000Mhz on the shaders brings me to around 5700PPD this early in the game.
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 08:08 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

The 177.79 drivers were the first official CUDA drivers with folding support.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Well, I have an 8800 GTS 512MB folding in my old AMD 3800+ s939 system. Taking 50% CPU usage but that is to be expected I guess. Overclocked to 2000Mhz on the shaders brings me to around 5700PPD this early in the game.
Looks pretty good, you just may hit 6000ppd. Are you using the 177.92 + CUDA drivers?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 08:13 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,828
Default

177.92 have the CUDA driver paths within them already so there isn't need to install them seperately.

Since I have an SLI board (SLI DR Expert) on that system, I suppose I could pop on another card (like I don't already have enough hanging around...) but that would probably max out my CPU. Considering it is overclocked to 2.6Ghz already, I don't think I am willing to push it to 100% for any extended period of time.

Edit: Looks like 6050 PPD right now.
Reply With Quote
  #76 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 09:04 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
The 177.79 drivers were the first official CUDA drivers with folding support.


Looks pretty good, you just may hit 6000ppd. Are you using the 177.92 + CUDA drivers?
Thank you for correcting that, I hate posting faulty info. With my memory, I Knew I should have triple checked...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 09:10 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCB001 View Post
Thank you for correcting that, I hate posting faulty info. With my memory, I Knew I should have triple checked...
No problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
177.92 have the CUDA driver paths within them already so there isn't need to install them seperately.
I know that, but I found after some troubleshooting that installing the whole package did not work - I had to d/l and install the CUDA package on it's own.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 09:12 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,828
Default

Looks like it is working fine for me.

If I choose to run two GPUs in the one system, will I need to run two instances of the GPU2 client or will it allow me to speed up a single WU?
Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 09:17 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

2 cards won't speed up a single WU. For dual cards folding, follow this guide: Folding@home - WinGPUGuide.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #80 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 09:23 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,828
Default

Easy enough. Heck, i don't even need to install the SLI bridge, just extend the desktop.

Let's just hope my mobo doesn't bork the Windows install again. Haha.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes