Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 09:35 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,075

My System Specs

Default

It checkpoints based on time (3-30 min). But if you pause it first, that forces a checkpoint I believe.
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 05:11 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Here is one question that I always wondered: will closing down my system mean that I loose all of my work done to that time if I haven't finished a WU with the GPU2 client?
FAH uses checkpoints, which are configurable in the settings: from 5 to 30 minutes. Default is 15 minutes.

If you wish to shut down your rig, first close the FAH window using CTRL+C with the window active. This saves the work done first, before closing; once FAH is re-started, it will continue from the last shut-down - no work lost.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 05:28 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,645
Default

Go something interesting here. An 8600GTS + the new 177.79 beta drivers = GPU Client Crash. Same as what happened in the A Not So Small Issue With GPU2 Client thread I started. Seems this client doesn't like some beta drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 05:30 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

em yea i have never done it like that i usually just pause the work on the gpu2 client and then shut of my computer ? i wonder if it restarts the project when i turn my pc back on.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 05:31 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Skymtl try using the 177.92 drivers they work well. Unless the drivers you are using is specifically for vista?
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 05:33 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,645
Default

Haha. I think I have to DL the Cuda drivers, no?

Plus, I think it is only the 177.84 and higher drivers with F@H support.
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 05:34 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

lol that would be the right idea lol the newest one for the 8600gt is the 177.92 works perfectly!
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 05:35 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,645
Default

Yup...I really think it is the xxx.84 drivers and later with CUDA support
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 05:39 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

did you try the 177.92 drivers with the card you cannot confirm you have see if it plays well ?
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 05:53 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,645
Default

I have not tried. Just realized I don't have the time to play with this thing right now...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes