Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2008, 06:00 PM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default BOINC - Can't Acquire Lockfile

Alright I'm new to BOINC and already having issues... Can't Acquire Lockfile is my issue. This is the error message i get when things fail.

Here is what I know

"A Lock File is a small file, usually of zero length (empty) that is used to indicate a running process or ownership of a directory. The use of a file in this manner is to prevent two running processes from modifying the contents of the directory at the same time.
The first process, as part of its initialization, will open a file, usually named lockfile (go figure), for write access. Because the file is open for writing, any other process that wishes to use that directory will likewise try to open a file with the same name and the file create will fail. This signals the second process that it does not have exclusive access to the directory. "

Now I read here:
Can't acquire lockfile - exiting - Unofficial BOINC Wiki
That to stop this issue I have to delete the lock file and reboot... so my question is where is the lock file, because I can't find it, thanks.
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2008, 02:14 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

Did you get anywhere with your problem?

I've searched my computer for "lockfile" and it came up blank. I followed your link and tried Google, neither was much help. I saw the same problem but no resolution.

Maybe try a complete uninstall, re-install of BOINC? I dunno.
__________________
ASUS P5Q-E - E8400 (4GHz) - Corsair TX650W - 2xHIS HD 4850 IceQ Turbo - 2x2GB Mushkin Ascent 8000 - 2xWD 500GB - TRUE 120 - Antec 1200 - ASUS Xonar DX - Big Smile
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2008, 05:29 AM
Pawly's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Richmond Hill, ON
Posts: 6
Default

I just looked and the Wiki page you linked too hasn't been updated in almost 3 years (yikes!!)

I would recommend fully un-installing and then re-installing the BOINC manager and if the trouble persists then seek advice at the project that you are running.

All (well most) of the projects have a "Number Crunching" section of their forums. They are specifically for looking into user problems. I know your team crunches Rosetta so here is the link to "N/C" there: Message boards : Number crunching

Hope this helps and good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2008, 07:31 PM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

Thanks, I just got a second HD and I'm dual booting with vista, so I'm going to just install it on Vista for now. But I think it is a good idea to just uninstall and reinstall so I think thats what I will do. Thanks for the feedback
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes