Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2008, 08:04 PM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

lots of servers

Thanks SG
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2008, 08:05 PM
Mibs's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 311
Default

I've got the gpu2 client up and running with the latest drivers. A nice clean and painless install. Same PPD though.

Edit: PPD have increased by about 70 points. Not a lot. This is probably due to the fact that BOINC isn't running anymore.
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.52 GHz // EVGA 680i SLI Rev. A1 (P31) // 4 GB OCZ Platinum 800 MHz 4-4-4-15 // PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad // Antec P180 // EVGA 8800 GTS 512 // Samsung Syncmaster 226bw 22" LCD

WC Loop: D-Tek Fuzion V2 // Danger Den Maze 5 // Swiftech MCP655 // Swiftech MicroRes // Thermochill PA 120.2 + 4 x Noctua NF-P12

Last edited by Mibs; August 2, 2008 at 08:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2008, 08:11 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowed View Post
Anybody else having problems sending in completed WUs ?
Maybe their server is down this weekend ...

I probably should have started a new thread for this question but I wasn't sure if it had something to do with this new GPU client or not.
After 2 days away I got home to find both GPU/CPU clients expired and my comp. off due to a brief power outage. Installed the new clients and have had no problems sending completed GPU WUs. Did you uninstall the old client first?

Edit: Oops to slow again
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2008, 08:14 PM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

Yup, uninstalled, reinstalled and rebooted just for good measure...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2008, 08:25 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

If nothing else works you could delete your queue and/or work folders and restart the client, it sometimes works
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2008, 08:31 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,250

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowed View Post
lots of servers

Thanks SG
Is it down?
Is it all your WU's or just one?
Post up your log file if you need to
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2008, 08:31 PM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCB001 View Post
If nothing else works you could delete your queue and/or work folders and restart the client, it sometimes works
I rebooted again and still nadda. You delete the whole work folder and/or the queue.dat file ?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2008, 08:34 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,250

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowed View Post
I rebooted again and still nadda. You delete the whole work folder and/or the queue.dat file ?
use the -delete1 flag, or what ever slot it is in say 4 , use -delete4
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2008, 08:37 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,250

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
What are flags?

Flags are special instructions given to the client at launch

Console Client Configuration Options ( Flags )

-config
Allows users to change their configuration information. This includes user & team names (reflected in the stats), whether or not to ask before a network connection is made to fetch/send work, set up proxy servers, preferred work unit type (Folding/Genome), process priority, CPU usage requested (5-100%), whether or not to use assembly loops, whether or not to use deadline information, and Machine ID changes.

-configonly
Same as above, but quit following configuration instead of beginning work.

-delete x
Delete item #x from work queue. This option should only be used if there is a serious error with the current unit that the client does not automatically recover from (e.g. crash-inducing). This should not normally happen, and if it does, we would be grateful if you could send us the FAHlog.txt file from the unit that causes the error.

-license
Displays the end-user license agreement

-queueinfo
Get information on queued work units. Includes for each unit the status (READY/FINISHED/EMPTY), unit type (Folding/Genome), originating server, and date when the unit was received (local time in GMT), as well as deadline if the server sent that information.

-send x
Send result #x back to server. Exits after trying to send unit (successfully or unsuccessfully). Use "-send all" to send all results outstanding. If unit x is not a completed work unit then the client exits without doing anything.

-verbosity x
Sets the output level, from 1 to 9 (max). The default is 3. This option should be used if the user wishes to see more detailed client output, particularly useful if there is a problem which needs to be reported to the F@H client development team.

-oneunit
Instruct the client to quit following the completion of one work unit.

-forceasm
Instruct the core to use SSE/3DNow assembly instructions if possible, even if it has previously made the determination that the machine may not be handling this well.

-advmethods
Request to be assigned work units from new projects, before they are broadly released to the rest of Folding@home. As among the first to try out new advanced simulations, you may wish to post any observations (positive or negative), questions, or issues at the user Forum.

-local
Use configuration files from local directory. This option has no meaning on Linux, but is vital on Windows and Macintosh for running multiple clients on a machine. It instructs the client to read its config information from the client.cfg file in the current directory rather than, on Windows, from the installation directory specified in the registry, or, on Macintosh, the Library/Folding@home directory. Information such as the user name, team name, proxy information, machine ID are maintained in the client.cfg file. The flag ensures that work does not conflict. Use "-local" only if you are planning on running more than one instance of Folding@Home on the same machine (this is only useful if you are running on a multi-processor machine). Create as many directories as there are processors on the machine, copy the exe files and client.cfg file into each of these directories, run "FAH3Console -local -config" on each and specify unique machine IDs for each directory (under the Advanced Settings option). From then onwards you may run each copy by switching to its directory and running with the -local flag.

-help
Print out the command line flags available and then exit.

Windows Specific

-pause
Pause after finishing and trying to send current unit. Allows a user to shut down after finishing a unit, by pressing Ctrl-C, without then getting new work to process. This is recommended if you are planning on shutting down your machine for a long time (e.g. for a vacation), or are planning to un/re-install F@H after finishing the currently processing work unit.

-service
Run in service mode (for programs such as firedaemon). This prevents the client from exiting when it detects the current user is logging out. If this option is used when the client is not run as a service then it will run normally, but will not shut down automatically if the user logs out, and a "Wait for program to close." dialog box will be displayed.

-svcstart
This flag is used if you configure the console client to be run as a service (through the standard client Configuration). The user should NOT give this flag manually, it is automatically given by the Windows scheduler and is just listed here for information.
copy/paste from the FAQ here, I dont know what flags work with the GPU client but the delete command works.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2008, 08:39 PM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

Sorry SuperGrover, you lost me.
On my linux system, the clients are each running in terminal windows.
The GPU in WinXP only has a taskbar icon. I don' see where to enter any flags...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes