Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #131 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2008, 10:25 AM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

Hmmmm...maybe i can sell my 3870 for something that will fold better, how much does a 8800GT pump out? and a 4870X2?

Sorry, so clueless on folding!
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |




Last edited by Apollo4g; August 24, 2008 at 10:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #132 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2008, 10:52 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Much better choice; before folding with the GTX280, I was using a 8800GTS 320Mb that had an output of ~4700ppd. That was the equivalent of one of my Q6600 with a full-blown oc and dual SMP clients under Linux with VmWare...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #133 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2008, 10:59 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

I've been reading a little bit more on the GX2 - multiple GPUs. Check this out:

Folding Forum • View topic - 1.07 *IS* *Multi-GPU*
and
Folding Forum • View topic - A new Nvidia core (v1.07) for users w/ multi-gpu boards

Also, for both of you; here is the link for the 177.83 drivers with Physx support: Force Within: Download. Unselect all except the first choice.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #134 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2008, 11:07 AM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

Thanks! I got some reading to do :)
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
  #135 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2008, 11:15 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,140

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowed View Post
Is your 8800 for sale now ?
Already sold, sorry. It was bespoke before I bought the 4870.
Reply With Quote
  #136 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2008, 09:14 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

anyone gotten quad sli working with this on vista 64?
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #137 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 12:00 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

this client isnt working for me, im using version 6.22 console and im getting 400ppd with 1 cpu (and i mean Cpu) core at 100% and none of my Gpu cores even rising a single degree. i looked for the core version 1.07 but i think they pulled it because its not for download anymore. It was working under XP, but now not with vista64 (im not running sli, just have both 9800gx2 cards in with a monitor on each) any ideas?
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #138 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 05:56 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

You may have to look at the F@H forums for this one; no one here uses the GX2 for folding, two of them even less.... I'll take a look at their forums tonight.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #139 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 07:01 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

some odd reason my ppd has gone down from the traditional 5400 to 3399 the overclock on the video card is right i even put it back to default and overclocked it again and i got a faster cpu now clocked my E3110 to 3.2ghz so i dont know why its gone down ?
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #140 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 10:16 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
You may have to look at the F@H forums for this one; no one here uses the GX2 for folding, two of them even less.... I'll take a look at their forums tonight.
I actually use a 9800GX2, which I recently purchased just for folding, after it's recent price drop. Now let me tell you...getting this damn thing to run properly, is a huge pain for some.....and a dream for others! Let's just say it is a large pain for me. So far I've gotten the card to run at stock: Card 1 4766 PPD but Card 2: 2498 only! While 7246 PPD is still very impressive, I find it very hard to reach that 10000 PPD range that they are supposed to run. I've opened a post at the F@H forums to see if I can get some help there. Check here: Folding Forum • View topic - 9800GX2 - Odd behavior

As it looks now, with Vista Ultimate 32-bit, 177.83 installed, SLI off, two screens attached and the desktop extended(which are all requirements) Card 1 runs at 600/1000/1500(core/mem/shader) but Card 2 runs at 400/400/800(core/mem/shader) which if you calculate it, works out seeing a difference in PPD per card. Neither Rivatuner or AtiTool are able to OC that second card. So basically I'm stuck. It looks like the second card does not have the proper drivers or it is stuck in 2D mode..... Installing all the clients is also a bit tricky but there are quite a few good guides out there that will help you! Good Luck to all and if you get it to work before me let me know!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?

Last edited by Prof. Dr. Silver; August 25, 2008 at 10:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes