Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2008, 08:20 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,639

My System Specs

Default

Yes, BOINC has that option to run as a Service. Never tried it myself though.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2008, 09:24 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,082

My System Specs

Default

It works well for me, starts up automatically on boot.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2008, 09:54 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I'm really liking this BIONC- I can't beleive tha Stanford is so far behind on user friendliness. I'm only able to fold when I'm home on weekends, but it's so stable and even works on dialup connection without a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2008, 10:08 AM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 373

My System Specs

Default

yes I have my wifes pc on service so it starts automatically and I've shown her how to pause it when she plays Oblivion lol
funny thing is she forgot to pause it yesterday and ran Oblivion without a hitch on the E6300 while folding
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2008, 11:13 AM
Unklmo's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 160
Default

is there a way i can login, load and connect to Boinc as soon as my pc boots? or do i have to continually login and attach to a project each time.
atm, i'm running it when i'm on the pc, or nearby. not running 24/7?

sorry, i just read the above replies. so how do i set it up as a service and autoconnect to a project?

Last edited by Unklmo; June 13, 2008 at 11:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2008, 11:19 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,514

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unklmo View Post
is there a way i can login, load and connect to Boinc as soon as my pc boots? or do i have to continually login and attach to a project each time.
atm, i'm running it when i'm on the pc, or nearby. not running 24/7?
Sounds like you don't have it set up to run as a service. I'm pretty sure mine runs even when I'm not logged on.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2008, 11:46 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,082

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unklmo View Post
sorry, i just read the above replies. so how do i set it up as a service and autoconnect to a project?
Just re-install over current installation, you won't even lose the projects your working on.

While it is more user-friendly, I've forgotten to pause it while playing Mass Effect, which usually ends up causing the game to crash. I think that's because I've got it set to run all the time, instead of waiting for system idle for 3 minutes.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2008, 11:55 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,082

My System Specs

Default

Just came across this article on TGDaily, saying a Nvidia GPU client will be released next week. Says the GPU client can simulate up to 650ns per day (I's sure that's on the GT280) while a typical quad does around 4ns. Imagine your PPD now! So we can run FaH on our GPU's, and Boinc on the CPU's.

TG Daily - Nvidia and Stanford finalizing Folding@Home client for GeForce GPUs
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2008, 01:11 PM
Spaceman-Spiff's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: burnaby.bc.ca
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch View Post
yes I have my wifes pc on service so it starts automatically and I've shown her how to pause it when she plays Oblivion lol
funny thing is she forgot to pause it yesterday and ran Oblivion without a hitch on the E6300 while folding
You probably have set the preferences to run the tasks only when computer is idle.


I hope BOINC will fix the screensaver bug soon for "On resume, password protect".
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2008, 12:39 AM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 373

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Just came across this article on TGDaily, saying a Nvidia GPU client will be released next week. Says the GPU client can simulate up to 650ns per day (I's sure that's on the GT280) while a typical quad does around 4ns. Imagine your PPD now! So we can run FaH on our GPU's, and Boinc on the CPU's.

TG Daily - Nvidia and Stanford finalizing Folding@Home client for GeForce GPUs
OMG that is simply smokin
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
boinc , folding , rosetta

Thread Tools
Display Modes