Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2008, 03:20 AM
Unklmo's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 160
Default

question for you guys. what are you running your 'puters at ? i mean i let my main go most of the day yesterday and i saw that my cpu usage was maxed out at 100%.
should i maybe be dialing that back some? right now i left everything at the default setting. what are some of your recommendations?
thnx
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2008, 03:44 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

I'd leave it at 100% unless you find that's not working right for you (problems with other apps, CPU temps too high, etc...).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2008, 09:54 AM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 373

My System Specs

Default

and apparently there are bonus points awarded for lowest energy structure also
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2008, 10:07 PM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 373

My System Specs

Default

WOOHOOO WE'RE BATTIN 100
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2008, 08:57 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

What's the main reason for doing this over FAH?

Just curious...
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2008, 10:01 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

Similar to Stanford's F@H, Berkeley's software is much easier to set-up and use, plus you can choose which projects to run. Project Rosetta's goals are similar to F@H, and a few of us kept having WU issues with F@H.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2008, 10:04 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

It's a stable platform. Much more stable... and no WU problems.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2008, 10:00 PM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 373

My System Specs

Default

srry Unklmo for the late reply but i also set mine at 100% cpu usage
Unlike FaH I find I can run this client and do most anything BUT high end gaming and thats easily overcome as the BOINC client has a freakin pause button :) which I love

We've topped out at 98 so unless we gain some more recruits this is where we're stayin which isnt too bad considering we have 9 folders atm and we're just a couple places back of team Australias OC club and my old Overclockersclub.com

another great thing about BOINC over FaH is that you still get points if the WU fails for any reason and you can divide your cpu usage between different projects so you could fold for Rosetta, Einstein, Seti, or any number of projects at once
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2008, 04:28 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Mine hasn't been folding the last couple of days as I'm in Moncton buying a house, and my wife mucked it up trying to get E-mail up and running.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2008, 08:05 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Hmmm...

This is intriguing...perhaps I should convert to BOINC...I have both my systems folding 24/7 for F@H right now. A Q6700 and QX9650. Can it be run as a service? On the "family" rig (where I put the Q6700) I run F@H as a service so even when my brother reboots it just starts right back up and I don't have to do anything.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
boinc , folding , rosetta

Thread Tools
Display Modes