Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2013, 08:19 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,531
Default

In my case , I have a North facing garage and it's always cold....It's my workshop so it needs heat , and I can't run a gas heater here.

My main rig runs out there 24/7 folding and it's still too cold....I'm bringing another folding boxen up ASAP.

I don't care what it costs to heat my workshop so...

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2013, 04:21 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,493

My System Specs

Default

too bad ya cant run a gas heater... is it because the roof penetration?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2013, 09:30 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,531
Default

Yes , and it's cause running a gas line out would effing suck.

I ran the power , let's fold to heat !!

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2013, 09:47 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,557

My System Specs

Default

I'm not folding to keep warm, but mining 24/7 in my room has eliminated the need for the heat being on, it's usually around the same temperature as outside even if the heat is on, but with my PC chugging away its nice and warm :)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2013, 10:40 PM
vandidant's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 67
Default

gtx460 not producing enough heat to keep my room warm :( not sure if I should go through with two 7970 orders on ncix...
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2013, 10:44 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,062

My System Specs

Default

Which 7970? I only see Sapphire for expensive :|
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2013, 11:12 PM
vandidant's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoob View Post
Which 7970? I only see Sapphire for expensive :|
Refurb powercolor for $230 and xfx double d for $280 from the sale
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2014, 12:39 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,241

My System Specs

Default

I'm going to go out on an anecdotal limb and say that folding is costing me more in electricity, even with the lower cost of heating. I'd fancy around a 7-10% increase in energy consumption by doing a quick comparison of my energy use vs when I started folding vs average outside temperature.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding@home - Log File and SSD use RBA Storage 2 March 9, 2012 07:49 PM
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 09:24 PM
Folding@home with WHS p3t3rson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 February 10, 2010 06:07 AM
Folding@home electricity use Perineum HardwareCanucks F@H Team 103 November 13, 2009 02:17 PM
PC Heater JD Off Topic 11 February 8, 2009 11:52 PM