Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2013, 06:36 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,926

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoTech View Post
As of last night I had no 8900's, only 7810,11's. Not sure this morning as I didn't look before I left for work.
I sure like the 78xx's, they are smaller credits but sure blow through fast.
So do I. If I am gaming I can pause the client with a much smaller penalty to my ppd.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2013, 06:47 AM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 216
Default

So I have a GTX 770 that I just started up. So far I'm getting mostlu 8900 WU's but I'm only seeing about 33k ppd. I have a sneaking suspicion that it has to do with my CPU not being able to keep up. Currently no SMP folding, it's a Xeon X3330 clocked to 3.4 GHz 8GB gskill ram, sitting idle other than the GPU folding.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2013, 06:54 AM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

That does seem low. When I was putting 8900's thru on a 770 I was getting about 80K PPD or more depending on work units. Don't recall any that low. I assume you have one core for each GPU set aside on your xeon. Also sometimes when a unit starts up the PPD and credit are not what you will finally receive. If you watch a unit, it will fluctuate PPD and credit as it progresses. Maybe just monitor it and see if another unit does the same. 30K on a 770 seems really low to me.

EDIT: oops no cpu running my bad.
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2013, 07:47 AM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 216
Default

I'm wondering if it has to do with the single thread performance of the X3330 not feeding the gpu enough.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2013, 08:04 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,926

My System Specs

Default

What is GPU usage like?
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2013, 09:47 AM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 216
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
What is GPU usage like?
I'll check tonight to be sure, but I think it was at 99%.

Frame times for Project 8900 are 8:37.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2013, 10:37 AM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

TPF's can be long, but I wonder if you can try it in another PC, with a different cpu. That would answer the cpu question for you. I run a a 660 ti in an old wreck of a PC with one PCI e slot and it can get 40-60K PPD depending on wu.
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2013, 03:32 PM
akira749's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Donnacona, QC
Posts: 342

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim_H View Post
So I have a GTX 770 that I just started up. So far I'm getting mostlu 8900 WU's but I'm only seeing about 33k ppd. I have a sneaking suspicion that it has to do with my CPU not being able to keep up. Currently no SMP folding, it's a Xeon X3330 clocked to 3.4 GHz 8GB gskill ram, sitting idle other than the GPU folding.

Thoughts?
I have the same issue with my 2 GTX 770 on 8900 WU's. They are only giving me 39K ppd

And on another rig I have 2 GTX 670 FTW (so basically 680) on 8900 WU's and they are giving me 79K ppd!

Both rigs have one CPU thread free for each GPU.
__________________

Folding Build 1 : White Asylum (Case Labs SM8)
Folding Build 2 : Ergo Proxy (Case Labs SMH10)
Folding Build 3 : Hurrikaine (Case Labs S8)
Gaming Build : Alexstrasza’s Shrine (Case Labs S5)
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2013, 04:02 PM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

Wow that's not good. I have a 7811 on a 770 now and says 137943 PPD. No 8900's running at the moment. I will watch for them tonite now that I am home. I am sure I was getting 65-85K on a 680 with the 8900's before. I have all sytems set to 1 thread/GPU, beta flag, mild OC's on cpu and gpu's. Other than deleting a 8900 slot as a test and then reassign, I can't think of anything else at this moment. Just looked and I have a 7810 running on a stock 660 and claims about 50K PPD!! ouch
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2013, 06:10 AM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 216
Default

Well, I removed the overclock from the system. No change. I'll try it in another system hopefully by the weekend to see what happens.

Have the 770's been neutered somehow?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q6600 tweaking m0pelley99 CPU's and Motherboards 2 May 20, 2011 08:27 AM
Tweaking Xp on an old PC botat29 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 29 February 3, 2011 12:21 PM
gpu voltage tweaking.. gon_freecs Troubleshooting 3 February 1, 2011 07:01 AM
OC Tweaking Spreadsheet misterlarry Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 September 3, 2008 04:44 PM