Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2013, 06:26 AM
akira749's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Donnacona, QC
Posts: 396

My System Specs

Default Need some infos for a newcomer to folding universe!

Hi!

I have a machine ready to start folding and I would like to have recommendations on which client to use and if I have to do some config those infos would be great too! I have looked at a couple of stickies on the forum but I would like some fresh infos.

Basically the setup is : i7 3770K CPU and 2 GTX670 FTW GPUs

The rig would be dedicated since I have another one for gaming, surfing and everyday stuff.

If you need any other infos on the rig setup let me know!
__________________

Folding Build 1 : White Asylum (Case Labs SM8)
Folding Build 2 : Ergo Proxy (Case Labs SMH10)
Folding Build 3 : Hurrikaine (Case Labs S8)
Gaming Build : Alexstrasza’s Shrine (Case Labs S5)
Work In Progress : Xenomorph (Parvum S2.0)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2013, 08:03 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,044

My System Specs

Default

I just use the V7 client . It should add both cards and GPU by default. Then just enter your name, passkey, and team name. Then you are good to go. It is easy to pause the client when you are gaming/etc too.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2013, 08:50 AM
akira749's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Donnacona, QC
Posts: 396

My System Specs

Default

Great thanks!
__________________

Folding Build 1 : White Asylum (Case Labs SM8)
Folding Build 2 : Ergo Proxy (Case Labs SMH10)
Folding Build 3 : Hurrikaine (Case Labs S8)
Gaming Build : Alexstrasza’s Shrine (Case Labs S5)
Work In Progress : Xenomorph (Parvum S2.0)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2013, 12:40 PM
akira749's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Donnacona, QC
Posts: 396

My System Specs

Default

I installed the client and started folding...I set it up at "Full" so I could use both my GPUs and my CPU but it only runs for a few minutes and boom BSOD...i tried it a couple times with the same results....one wierd thing is that my MCP35X2 pump start to "whine" after a few moments of folding....it might be related....
__________________

Folding Build 1 : White Asylum (Case Labs SM8)
Folding Build 2 : Ergo Proxy (Case Labs SMH10)
Folding Build 3 : Hurrikaine (Case Labs S8)
Gaming Build : Alexstrasza’s Shrine (Case Labs S5)
Work In Progress : Xenomorph (Parvum S2.0)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2013, 12:45 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,044

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akira749 View Post
I installed the client and started folding...I set it up at "Full" so I could use both my GPUs and my CPU but it only runs for a few minutes and boom BSOD...i tried it a couple times with the same results....one wierd thing is that my MCP35X2 pump start to "whine" after a few moments of folding....it might be related....
Have you tested stability w/ Prime95? If it BSODs so soon I suspect a bad overclock. You should do this the same time the GPUs are under load since you are water cooling. The MCP35X2 likely whines because it is cranking the speed of the pumps up. If you are using PWM your motherboard will do this automatically when the CPU is under load normally.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2013, 02:47 PM
akira749's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Donnacona, QC
Posts: 396

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Have you tested stability w/ Prime95? If it BSODs so soon I suspect a bad overclock. You should do this the same time the GPUs are under load since you are water cooling. The MCP35X2 likely whines because it is cranking the speed of the pumps up. If you are using PWM your motherboard will do this automatically when the CPU is under load normally.
I've run P95 but I have to admit that my GPUs were not under load...

I will redo some tests thanks
__________________

Folding Build 1 : White Asylum (Case Labs SM8)
Folding Build 2 : Ergo Proxy (Case Labs SMH10)
Folding Build 3 : Hurrikaine (Case Labs S8)
Gaming Build : Alexstrasza’s Shrine (Case Labs S5)
Work In Progress : Xenomorph (Parvum S2.0)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2013, 04:53 PM
akira749's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Donnacona, QC
Posts: 396

My System Specs

Default

Your hint was good Lowfat!

I relaunch P95 with the GPUs on load and it did not stand very long :D

I set my CPU clock to 4.4 instead of 4.6 and did P95 for a little hour and it was looking good so I re-test my folding client and so far it runs well!

I will continue to monitor it but I think it will be okay!

Thanks again my friend!
__________________

Folding Build 1 : White Asylum (Case Labs SM8)
Folding Build 2 : Ergo Proxy (Case Labs SMH10)
Folding Build 3 : Hurrikaine (Case Labs S8)
Gaming Build : Alexstrasza’s Shrine (Case Labs S5)
Work In Progress : Xenomorph (Parvum S2.0)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2013, 08:33 PM
akira749's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Donnacona, QC
Posts: 396

My System Specs

Default

After a full week of 24/7 folding the rig never failed on me and I score around 489000 points...so far i'm happy with the results
__________________

Folding Build 1 : White Asylum (Case Labs SM8)
Folding Build 2 : Ergo Proxy (Case Labs SMH10)
Folding Build 3 : Hurrikaine (Case Labs S8)
Gaming Build : Alexstrasza’s Shrine (Case Labs S5)
Work In Progress : Xenomorph (Parvum S2.0)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2013, 08:16 AM
akira749's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Donnacona, QC
Posts: 396

My System Specs

Default

Hi everyone!

My current folding rig is running smooth and I kinda dig the "folding game" :)

Sooooo.....I'm looking to possibly build a second one!

My questions for you fellow folders is :

1) Should I go with X79 platform or the new Z87 platform in terms of CPU and PCIe lanes availability?
2) In terms of GPU should I look for 780, 600 series or even 500 series?

I would fold on CPU and multi GPU

If you need other infos to help me decide feel free to ask!

Thanks and have a good day!
__________________

Folding Build 1 : White Asylum (Case Labs SM8)
Folding Build 2 : Ergo Proxy (Case Labs SMH10)
Folding Build 3 : Hurrikaine (Case Labs S8)
Gaming Build : Alexstrasza’s Shrine (Case Labs S5)
Work In Progress : Xenomorph (Parvum S2.0)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2013, 08:52 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,044

My System Specs

Default

GTX780s are ridiculously good at folding currently. I am not sure how long these WUs will be available but at the moment I am doing 315k w/ two cards.

PCIe bandwidth really doesn't matter with folding.

X79 is a power hog and the price definitely is not worth what you get from PPD out of the CPU, which in my case is about 25k from a 3930k @ 4.4GHz. If I didn't need the PCIe lanes for other purposes I would ditch X79 in a heartbeat.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Cheap Folding Cards, Time To Start Folding Again Soullessone21 Buy/Sell & Trade 6 November 30, 2012 12:01 PM
Can someone explain the Star Wars universe to me please? muse108dc Off Topic 10 March 6, 2012 08:06 PM
Folding client V7 - SLI - Cannot use system during folding..fix? Jake_HT HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 January 18, 2012 10:17 AM
6 GPU folding computer/need help with dedicated folding machine Silent_Avenger New Builds 11 December 25, 2011 01:17 PM
Stargate Universe kyle_L Off Topic 34 May 19, 2011 05:27 AM