Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2013, 07:17 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St.Albert, Alberta
Posts: 26

My System Specs

Default Anyone ran a Supermicro H8QGI-F?

Hey everyone,

I picked up a Supermicro 2042G-TRF chassis that has a H8QGI-F motherboard with 4 Opteron 6128 CPUs a month ago. Needed RAM so I picked up 8 packs of 2GBx2 Kingston HyperX Genesis PnP 1600MHz memory. Put the memory in and no problems, motherboard detects 32GB of RAM.

Goal with this system is just to run FAH.

Problem I am having is what OS to run? I'm a bit of a Linux noob but tried the latest Ubuntu desktop but runs terrible with the built-in graphics, just hard to do anything. Tried the server edition with GUI installed same thing. I see that it has a PCI-E slot so I go out and get a low profile GT 210 video card. I changed the JPG1 jumper on the motherboard to disable the on-board video so now it won't go past the bios screen to boot up a OS. Even getting into the bios is hit or miss.

I installed Windows 7 on it using the built-in graphics and it actually works decent enough to get around and do things. Folding with CPUs in windows 7 isn't the greatest I read.

So any advise what to do with this thing to get FAH going good? Am I missing something?

Thanks.
__________________


Home office: Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, Intel i7 3770k with H70, PNY GTX 780, G.Skill Ripjaws 2133MHz 8GB, Crucial M4 512GB, X2 Seagate 3TB.

Server: Asus P7P55D PRO, Intel i5 750, 8GB RAM, 4x WD Green 1.5TB, 2x Seagate 2TB. FreeNAS

HTPC: Asus P5N7A-VM, Intel Q9400, 4GB, 500GB WD Black.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2013, 07:26 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,684

My System Specs

Default

I ran one, and a few other 4P versions including Tyan boards. They are great, ultra stable boards - don't skimp on the cooling though, these boards run hot.

What you're missing? The Musky mix - this: http://*********.com/showthread.php?t=1601608

Follow the instructions to the letter. Do not forget one action. It will work, and allow folding the Bigadv WUs for best ppd and ppd/w. I used to run Ubuntu 10.10 but 12.04 is fine too.

Enjoy some great ppd to come.

edit: oh great. Replace ********* with 'h a r d f o r u m'....
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2013, 07:52 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,319

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tray View Post
Hey everyone,

I picked up a Supermicro 2042G-TRF chassis that has a H8QGI-F motherboard with 4 Opteron 6128 CPUs a month ago. Needed RAM so I picked up 8 packs of 2GBx2 Kingston HyperX Genesis PnP 1600MHz memory. Put the memory in and no problems, motherboard detects 32GB of RAM.

Goal with this system is just to run FAH.

Problem I am having is what OS to run? I'm a bit of a Linux noob but tried the latest Ubuntu desktop but runs terrible with the built-in graphics, just hard to do anything. Tried the server edition with GUI installed same thing. I see that it has a PCI-E slot so I go out and get a low profile GT 210 video card. I changed the JPG1 jumper on the motherboard to disable the on-board video so now it won't go past the bios screen to boot up a OS. Even getting into the bios is hit or miss.

I installed Windows 7 on it using the built-in graphics and it actually works decent enough to get around and do things. Folding with CPUs in windows 7 isn't the greatest I read.

So any advise what to do with this thing to get FAH going good? Am I missing something?

Thanks.
I ran my similar rig with 7 and it ran great for folding :)

And long time no see buddy I'm in AB to now we need to get a beer one of these days :)

Good luck with the new folding rig and you should of hit me up before getting that ram I have 64gb of ddr3 ecc 1600 ram that is just collecting dust
__________________
Good Bye HWC it was great :)
Site and Forum:
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php

If you need me the link above is where I spend my days now
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2013, 08:48 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

no no just give me everything lol ( kidding) man I wished I had that board . As 3Charlie says above follow muskies guide to a tea .
I actually am wondering if those 4p boards can run two different opteron sets at the same time like 6128s and 6234s
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2013, 11:24 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St.Albert, Alberta
Posts: 26

My System Specs

Default

Thanks Charlie, got through part of it and Ubuntu is working a better now for some reason, I guess that computer doesn't like ps2 mice! Ill finish up tomorrow. Also don't need to worry about this thing overheating, it sounds like a jet about to take off! When it does get warm it actually does sound like its going to take off!

Hey Soul, Have to grab a beer for sure. I do the odd trip to Calgary so Ill have to visit ya when I make my way down! Damn, if I would of known you had that memory, I guess next time I better ask you before looking elsewhere.
__________________


Home office: Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, Intel i7 3770k with H70, PNY GTX 780, G.Skill Ripjaws 2133MHz 8GB, Crucial M4 512GB, X2 Seagate 3TB.

Server: Asus P7P55D PRO, Intel i5 750, 8GB RAM, 4x WD Green 1.5TB, 2x Seagate 2TB. FreeNAS

HTPC: Asus P5N7A-VM, Intel Q9400, 4GB, 500GB WD Black.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2013, 11:44 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

if you can find some Noctua heat sinks they work great I have them on my 2p and it is quiet and cool
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2013, 08:26 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

Hey Tray, you don't even need a mouse or keyboard for that system. There's a NIC dedicated to be used as management/KVM (keyboard/video/mouse) that allows you to manage the server with a web browser through java. It's the NIC that is above some USB ports, while the other two are a bit lower.

You can give it a static IP address or allow it to get an IP address off of DHCP from your router. I use my board this way quite happily, I might add. I've installed Ubuntu and Windows through it with media mapped through the interface as well as USB sticks.

My H8QGi-F configuration only has three cables to it: 2 ethernet and 1 power.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2013, 10:02 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,684

My System Specs

Default

Yup, the power of IPMI. Loved that - and as specified by 10e, you can link a virtual CD to the OS's ISO and install said OS without ever using a keyboard, a mouse, a monitor and a CD...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2013, 05:29 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St.Albert, Alberta
Posts: 26

My System Specs

Default

Wow, Sweet I didn't know that feature could do all that! New to this server stuff. This would be great, I could toss this server in the basement because this thing is SO loud and massive. Once I'm back home I'll give it a shot, thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Parts where to buy cheap..er (H8QGi+-F etc) Xeven Off Topic 4 March 18, 2013 02:22 PM
[FS] Supermicro opteron 4p servers jtktam Buy/Sell & Trade 13 April 5, 2012 03:37 PM
Supermicro 3U cases jtktam HardwareCanucks F@H Team 22 January 15, 2012 03:32 PM
Heat sink options with supermicro boards? napier New Builds 1 July 7, 2009 07:35 PM
Supermicro X7DVL-E in a regular ATX case elec999 CPU's and Motherboards 0 November 17, 2008 11:27 AM