Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2013, 06:36 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default GPU Folding (550Ti) with Windows Vista?

Hi all,

As the subject, I'm going to be bringing online a folder soon, and I'm wondering if I'd be at any disadvantage Folding-wise to use Windows Vista Enterprise (which my school gave out a ton of MSDNAA keys for).

The computer will be either a Phenom 9950 or a Athlon X2 5200+ (depending on if the Phenom wasn't fried from my last experiment ), but most of the PPD will come from a GeForce GTX 550 Ti.

If Folding and light file server use is the only thing the rig will be doing, would I have any issues using an old Vista key? I'll of course treat it to the 10+ restarts worth of Windows Update to get the service packs and all that.
Also, could I run no antivirus since the only contact the rig will ever have with the Internet is Windows Update and F@H downloading new cores (EDIT: and WUs)? (Just for extra paranoia I'll download F@HClient from a computer with antivirus.)

Thanks!
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2013, 07:51 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,475

My System Specs

Default

the only issue you will have would be the ram requirements, you need at least 4GB of ram for a comfortable experience with Vista, that is all. windows 8 enterprise is still offered for free, from MS website
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2013, 10:02 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

I have 8 GiB of RAM, but not like the user experience would matter since I'll only log on to the computer to check the F@H Client and its server stuff

Just in case, the specs of the machine will be the following:
CPU: AMD Phenom 9950 / CoolerMaster GeminII or AMD Athlon X2 5200+ / Zerotherm BTF90
Mobo: ASUS M3A78-T or ASUS M2A-VM
RAM: 4x2GiB OCZ Platinum DDR2-800 - I'll probably run them at 5-5-5-18 or something
HDDs: Whatever I have lying around - probably some Seagate 7200.10 that still happen to power up
GPU: Gigabyte GeForce 550 Ti
Case: Antec New Solution (the one that has two front 120mm)
PSU:

If I'm forced to use the M2A-VM, it will be interesting to see what PCI-E x16 but at the 1.1 speeds will do to the folding...
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]

Last edited by frontier204; March 28, 2013 at 10:06 AM. Reason: clarification on outdated PCIE, PSU
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2013, 11:36 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
the only issue you will have would be the ram requirements, you need at least 4GB of ram for a comfortable experience with Vista, that is all.
Wrong. I've used a 3gig Vista system for years. Fluid and fast.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2013, 09:09 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

My parents have been using a Vista system with 3 GiB of RAM since 2007, but it wasn't fluid until I threw a SSD in

I'm putting the computer through the usual gauntlet of stress tests, since the parts came from a combination of a computer that was used casually, parts that have been in the closet for a year, and a computer that smoked. I'll be using the older CPU/mobo combo (Athlon X2 + M2A-VM) since the other parts are damaged. First up is HDDs, next will probably be RAM (since those tests you can do without installing an OS).
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2013, 04:37 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,475

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
If I'm forced to use the M2A-VM, it will be interesting to see what PCI-E x16 but at the 1.1 speeds will do to the folding...
absolutely nothing as it works even on X1 just fine
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2013, 05:44 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRQ Conflict View Post
Wrong. I've used a 3gig Vista system for years. Fluid and fast.
Fluid and fast does not exist in the Vista world especially with 3gb of ram.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Boxed Units Outsell Windows Vista by 234% FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 6, 2009 11:41 AM
Benchmarks : Windows 7 RTM vs Vista and XP Chilly Press Releases & Tech News 9 August 7, 2009 06:54 PM
[WTB] Windows Vista x64 OEM or Retail netforce Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 17, 2009 05:32 AM
windows xp to vista? Bdog454 Video Cards 4 June 14, 2008 06:37 AM
Linux SMP folding using XP / Vista + VMware sswilson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 100 May 12, 2008 07:28 PM