Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2013, 04:01 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,381

My System Specs

Default

I don't think so, it is the 7663 the one with high PPD count and this morning no more core 17 WUs I got a core 16 and the PPD estimation fell to around 3k PPD!

I don't know if there is something fishy going there or not but looks like my GT430 is doing almost the same score as my 7790.
Attached Images
 
__________________

Last edited by MARSTG; May 18, 2013 at 08:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #102 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2013, 08:18 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,188

My System Specs

Default

Is that GT430 still doing that many PPD?

That's crazy. It's as much PPD as my GTX650Ti Boost. And it's such a tiny card!
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #103 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2013, 08:26 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,381

My System Specs

Default

Nope, it was just a false prediction, it actually does 6.3k PPD

I don't know if is an issue but it seems my 7790 is not working right anymore : production dropped to 6.7 k PPD for the last few days. I uninstalled the client and removed the data also, reinstalled and the same issue persists. This of course on the 7663 WU with the beta flag. Any ideas? Your Radeons 7000 series are still producing PPDs like the days before?

I returned the 7790, short of reinstalling the OS I did everything, it did not help with the production. Now I have a 5770 in the system and with the beta flag is doing about the same amount of PPD like the 7790, and that is 6.7 kPPD. Is it possible the client was getting confused between cards? OS is win 8 pro x64
__________________

Last edited by MARSTG; May 25, 2013 at 01:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #104 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2013, 04:07 PM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 283

My System Specs

Default Core 17 and cpu

Guys just throwing a question out there. I have switched over to the core 17 client. I have been using the client-type/beta for the gpus and seen a "large" increase in PPD for the gpus. BUT on the other hand my PPD for the cpu's has fallen drastically! In fact a 2700k with and OC of 4.6 ghz is going to do 6700 PPD on a 7083 WU. What's going on? Am I missing something here? A 3930 at 4.2 ghz is going to do 16000 PPD on a 6098 WU. These seem way to low as compared to before I upgraded to core 17. Anyone in the know out there?

thanks!!
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #105 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2013, 04:44 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,786

My System Specs

Default

Core 17 uses has a higher CPU usage. For the 3930k I would suggest using only 10 threads instead of 12. The 2700k maybe only 6 threads.
Reply With Quote
  #106 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2013, 05:35 PM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 283

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Core 17 uses has a higher CPU usage. For the 3930k I would suggest using only 10 threads instead of 12. The 2700k maybe only 6 threads.
Thanks Lowfat. Where do you do that in the "configure folding slot" for cpu, instead of -1 put in 10 and 6 for number of threads?

thanks
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #107 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2013, 05:47 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,786

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoTech View Post
Thanks Lowfat. Where do you do that in the "configure folding slot" for cpu, instead of -1 put in 10 and 6 for number of threads?

thanks
Yes that is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #108 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2013, 05:53 PM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 283

My System Specs

Default WOW

Lowfat, not sure how this works but here is whats happening on the change I made to number of cpu threads to use on the 2700K. I changed the -1 (let folding decide) to let Lowfat decide ...6 cores.
here is the screen grab after about 5- 10 mins...????
Attached Images
 
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #109 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2013, 06:20 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,786

My System Specs

Default

Once it finishes that WU it likely will show the proper PPD. I've had my card show outrageous PPD like that before.
Reply With Quote
  #110 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2013, 06:43 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,381

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoTech View Post
... my PPD for the cpu's has fallen drastically! In fact a 2700k with and OC of 4.6 ghz is going to do 6700 PPD on a 7083 WU. What's going on? Am I missing something here?
In the know maybe not, but getting the same issue : my i3 used to to 7k PPD and has fallen to like less than 1k PPD lately so much that I quit folding on it. There must be something wrong there
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes