Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2013, 11:05 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,305

My System Specs

Default Switching From AMD-Intel cpu

Well last summer I bought an 2500 i5 that I wanted to switch out with my AMD 1100 6core with but I have been holding off for a few reason .
Now I am wonder if the intell will be able to handle my work load because I do Vmfold using 4 cores 24\7 but Plus run 2-3 other OSs in vm that run things on them also those are running 24\7. while those are running I am either surfing the net , gaming or have xbmc to watch some shows. Now will the Intel be able to handle that work load or should I stick with my AMD system?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2013, 12:29 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Is it a ''non-K'' 2500? You may be better off staying with the 1100T as it has more threads.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2013, 12:54 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,462

My System Specs

Default

folding wise it is the same, I have a i5 3350 and is doing around 13-14k PPD clocked @ 3.5GHz. I like the i5 setup morte because it is way quieter even with the OEM fan. AMD setups often need good coolers like 212 EVO to keep them silent.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2013, 01:18 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,305

My System Specs

Default

it is a k but will it be able to handle every thing that will be running in the back ground?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2013, 03:17 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
it is a k but will it be able to handle every thing that will be running in the back ground?
Well, if you switch to the 2500k, you'll probably only be able to do 3 core folding 24/7 if you still want to run the 2-3 other vm's and surf the web simultaneously. I'm not sure what the numbers would look like if you did that. Folding 3 cores on an 2500k vs 4 threads on 1100T probably pretty close. I guess you have to figure out if it would be worth the hassle of switching over. I personally would just keep the 1100T since the rig isn't used for gaming.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2013, 04:02 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

are you folding vmware linux or windows? AFAIK the windows V7 client still spits out the occasional WU when you have an odd number of cores selected.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2013, 04:07 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Keep the 1100t and use it as a VM server and use the Intel as desktop. With RDC you can remote to the server from the desktop and control the VM. Hyper-v and ESXi are both free and make nice VM servers
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2013, 07:29 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,305

My System Specs

Default

ya I guess that I could to that as it is though the only system that is inside a case is the AMD 1100t everything else is just sitting on boxes running .
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching from Intel i7 960 to AMD for Gaming, Best Option? igot6strings CPU's and Motherboards 21 December 16, 2012 03:16 AM
Switching from AMD to Intel Insanity Killz New Builds 9 March 2, 2012 05:07 PM
Switching mobo's Pabz0r545 CPU's and Motherboards 5 October 21, 2011 10:09 PM
Switching from nvidia to ATI Squeetard Video Cards 9 July 29, 2008 08:20 AM
HD Switching Fake2591 Troubleshooting 7 July 5, 2007 12:21 PM