Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2012, 05:18 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 823

My System Specs

Default dual 6 core Xeons

let's see what these bad boys can do

__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2012, 05:22 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Cool. Have you overclocked them yet? (assuming you are on an sr-2)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2012, 05:28 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

With 24 threads, you've got to go Linux here for the best ppd with Bigadv WUs and the QRB...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2012, 05:42 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grinder View Post
these bad boys
"Need more input!"
- No. 5
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2012, 07:25 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 823

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
With 24 threads, you've got to go Linux here for the best ppd with Bigadv WUs and the QRB...
I was wondering that... I figured windows SMP would be the way to go. Pure NIX? Or nix on a VM/VM(s). I assume they have distro's made just for folding no?

No SR-2 BTW
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2012, 07:35 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Linux router for VM setup: VMware && Linux bigadv folding

Otherwise, native 'nix indeed.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2012, 08:40 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,529
Default

Bastard !!

Good ta see yah in the fold again !

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2012, 09:04 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,625

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grinder View Post
let's see what these bad boys can do
some units under Windows SMP will produce 116 k PPD @ 3.0 GHz but most of the time you will get 60 k PPD. For comparison, my GTS 450 is getting 40k PPD on the 8057WU!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2012, 08:24 AM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 216
Default

Nice, I'd say go with linux as well. Ubuntu works well either in a vm or native
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 08:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,625

My System Specs

Default

going Linux is nice for F@h but you loose all the functionality Windows offers. Me I wanted to keep my dual Xeon setup for an every day machine but if you can spare it and want max PPD you need to go native Linux install. I would suggest Ubuntu 10 or 11 versions, and choose to install F@h on the method with the terminal, that is what worked best for me.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Dual Quadcore Xeons, 12GB RAM, Tyan Motherboard - SOLD Cptn Vortex Buy/Sell & Trade 9 October 3, 2011 09:00 AM
New 1366 32nm cpu pricing at NXSource (and 2 new 8 core Xeons)! Spblue CPU's and Motherboards 2 February 26, 2010 08:25 PM
is a quad core phenom or phenom2 better then intel dual core? Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 9 September 7, 2009 08:05 PM
[WTB] WTB / WTTF: Two Intel Quad-Core Xeons (LGA771) S_G Buy/Sell & Trade 4 January 24, 2009 03:36 AM
FS - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Dual Core Processor LGA775 Conroe 2.40GHZ 1066FSB 4MB L2 pat767 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 22, 2008 10:00 AM