Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2012, 05:59 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,257

My System Specs

Default Folding with SSD only

Is there any downside to folding with an ssd only in the system? I hear that it may degrade the ssd rather quickly.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2012, 06:02 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Bah, I've been using a very cheap Adata 300 series 32Gb SSD for about 18 months now, and it's still going strong in my crunching / folding rig.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2012, 06:04 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,569

My System Specs

Default

I would think it would depend on the size of the WUs you're folding. For most units I doubt they'll eat up that many writes.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2012, 07:43 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

i have killed many ssd all in different ways and once folding was the problem with older ssd in raid0 with bad itgc but let me clear something up i was also using it for a home server and torrent rig and some daily use adn they died after 2 years of use.

But that wouldn't stop me from doing it now i just don't think there's much to any difference in performance
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2012, 08:01 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,074

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilya View Post
For most units I doubt they'll eat up that many writes.
This. You wouldn't need to worry about it.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2012, 08:28 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I think its a non issue. A big wu is like 250MB or something roughly, that once a day or so shouldn't even make a dent in the longetivity of the ssd.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2012, 08:47 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,126

My System Specs

Default

I killed my Vertex 60GB using a 6GB VM and backing it up every 15 minutes. Never did the math to realize I was writing over 500GB a day to it until it was too late. If you are just running the regular V7 client it should be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2012, 03:37 AM
BeaverBender's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 260

My System Specs

Default

Well, I killed an SSD once in a quad-opteron folding box, but then again it was an OCZ Petrol, so it most likely was because it was just a crappy SSD
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2012, 04:18 AM
Galcobar's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Richmond, B.C.
Posts: 437

My System Specs

Default

SSDs tend to die one of two ways -- bad hardware/firmware, which invariably seems to be the controller, or worn-out NAND, which requires server-level use such as Sugar J describes.

Great thread of people actively trying to write their SSDs to death: SSD Write Endurance 25nm Vs 34nm The results seem akin to what you'd expect, if it's a lemon it dies early, and if it's not it lasts long past the warrantied/promised life (compare actual TiB written versus TiB written when the Media Wear Indicator reached 0). There's one 256 GB Samsung 830 which is still under testing and was pushing towards 4900 TiB as of Oct. 10, and a 64GB m4 at 1700 TiB; we're talking write volumes which should be measured in petabytes, for Pete's sake.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2012, 05:00 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

I have an Intel 80GB Gen2 for the folding rig for I believe almost 2 years now with no issues.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 10:54 AM
Folding client V7 - SLI - Cannot use system during folding..fix? Jake_HT HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 January 18, 2012 11:17 AM
6 GPU folding computer/need help with dedicated folding machine Silent_Avenger New Builds 11 December 25, 2011 02:17 PM
folding on 3 core / core free for gpu folding phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 January 11, 2010 07:07 PM
UPS's for folding 4DoorGTZ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 January 7, 2010 03:47 PM