Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   HardwareCanucks F@H Team (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardwarecanucks-f-h-team/)
-   -   Folding with SSD only (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardwarecanucks-f-h-team/57369-folding-ssd-only.html)

stoanee October 18, 2012 04:59 PM

Folding with SSD only

Is there any downside to folding with an ssd only in the system? I hear that it may degrade the ssd rather quickly.

3.0charlie October 18, 2012 05:02 PM

Bah, I've been using a very cheap Adata 300 series 32Gb SSD for about 18 months now, and it's still going strong in my crunching / folding rig.

ilya October 18, 2012 05:04 PM

I would think it would depend on the size of the WUs you're folding. For most units I doubt they'll eat up that many writes.

gingerbee October 18, 2012 06:43 PM

i have killed many ssd all in different ways and once folding was the problem with older ssd in raid0 with bad itgc but let me clear something up i was also using it for a home server and torrent rig and some daily use adn they died after 2 years of use.

But that wouldn't stop me from doing it now i just don't think there's much to any difference in performance:thumb:

lowfat October 18, 2012 07:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ilya (Post 663793)
For most units I doubt they'll eat up that many writes.

This. You wouldn't need to worry about it.

dandelioneater October 18, 2012 07:28 PM

I think its a non issue. A big wu is like 250MB or something roughly, that once a day or so shouldn't even make a dent in the longetivity of the ssd.

SugarJ October 18, 2012 07:47 PM

I killed my Vertex 60GB using a 6GB VM and backing it up every 15 minutes. Never did the math to realize I was writing over 500GB a day to it until it was too late. If you are just running the regular V7 client it should be fine.

BeaverBender October 19, 2012 02:37 AM