Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2012, 07:52 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Okay, I was having difficulty keeping PPD up with the new 12.11 drivers for AMD. 7950 dropped to 1K ppd, and somehow, core#2 on the GTX295 wasn't folding properly, and was only getting about 2K PPD. My CPU was also only doing about 1K PPD, so a grand total of 10K.

I uninstalled all the drivers (Nvidia and AMD), rolled back to 260.99 and 12.10, removed V7 client, and installed GPU Tracker V2.

So far I've got one SMP instance running at about 9K PPD, and 2 gpu instances running at 7K PPD, for a total of 23K PPD. The 7950 is currently not folding, as it seems to draw too much from the CPU for what it actually spits out.

If I have time I may transfer it to the HTPC for the time being just so I can at least get an extra 6K PPD out of it.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;

Last edited by great_big_abyss; October 23, 2012 at 06:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 06:02 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

I moved my GTX 295 into my main rig alongside my GTX680. I'm currently running 306.97 drivers (the latest WHQL release), as well as V7.2.9. I have the beta flag attached to all my GPU cores.

The problem is that one of my GTX295 cores is not folding. While V7 says it is 'running', the core does not show any progress, and HWmonitor shows it 19 degrees cooler than the other 295 core.

Any insight as to what is going on?
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 07:45 AM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 285

My System Specs

Default

Do you have evga's precision x? Not sure if it would show up as a 2 core card, but it does show my 2 card setups. It has temps % use and a fan controller. Its a free download off their site, but you may have to register there. My thinking is it will show you both cores.
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 08:02 AM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 216
Default

could be a bad WU? I had one of those lately. had to delete it to get any progress
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 09:07 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Damn it, I should have noted the WU that is was working on. Too bad, I'm at work now. It was a 10xx, whatever it was, anyways. It was actually a different 10xx WU than the other 295 core was crunching. (680 working on 70xx/80xx)

Does anybody have a link to a process for deleting a WU in V7? I have no idea where to go.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 09:10 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoTech View Post
Do you have evga's precision x? Not sure if it would show up as a 2 core card, but it does show my 2 card setups. It has temps % use and a fan controller. Its a free download off their site, but you may have to register there. My thinking is it will show you both cores.
When I was folding alone with the 295, it would show up and fold on 2 cores, no problem. Once again, V7 sees two cores, it's just not folding on one of them, as evidenced by the much lower temperature on core #2 (51C vs 69C.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 10:50 AM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 285

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
Damn it, I should have noted the WU that is was working on. Too bad, I'm at work now. It was a 10xx, whatever it was, anyways. It was actually a different 10xx WU than the other 295 core was crunching. (680 working on 70xx/80xx)

Does anybody have a link to a process for deleting a WU in V7? I have no idea where to go.
I think you just go to configure/slots/find the gpu and delete it/ then save. Then when units stops and removes itself from client go back to configure and add the gpu back in. Not sure but I assume that would do it.
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 10:56 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Well, if that's what is mean't, then yeah, that's easy. I was thinking somebody mean't actually go into explorer and delete the WU file..
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 09:04 PM
PerryC's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burton, NB
Posts: 737

My System Specs

Default

The path will look something like this: C:\Users\Perry\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient

Then you delete the relevant WU and log data
__________________
The oath to serve your country did not include a contract for normal luxury, and comforts enjoyed within our society. On the contrary it implies hardships, loyalty and devotion to duty, regardless of rank
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2012, 09:14 AM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 216
Default

It might be necessary to delete the work unit folder. I've needed to do that for a WU that wasn't processing, once it was deleted the client downloaded a new WU and away it went. as PerryC said, you should be able to find it under C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\work\X X
The XX will be a number that corresponds to the number you see in FAHControl.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powersupply for GTX295 (folding) great_big_abyss Power Supplies 26 October 12, 2012 09:01 PM
gtx295 and 9800gt in the same rig phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 22 February 4, 2010 07:03 PM
4 x GTX295 -working- fefox HardwareCanucks F@H Team 69 October 23, 2009 01:57 AM
[WTB] EVGA GTX295 Liu Kang Buy/Sell & Trade 7 July 3, 2009 08:29 AM