Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2012, 01:00 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

I am watercooled using a stinger v8 waterblock and I am OC to 3.8 which is probably as high as this cpu likes to go lol when I am folding and just doing my normal pc stuff the temps might get up to 50c it is just when I am gaming that it gets way up .I think that I will drop my clock speed down to stock and see how much of a difference the temperatures are . lol I had actually forgotten that I had the cpu overclocked ty for pointing this out.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2012, 01:08 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

Weird. There is be no reason that I can think of for the CPU temp to shoot up like that when you're gaming and folding at the same time. I know mine certainly does not (playing games from Skyrim to Civ5)

What's even weirder is that you're running a custom loop, and you have a 'mild' (for an 1100) overclock applied - certainly milder than my 1055T's 1.1GHZ increase. Your temp should be lower than mine under load!
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2012, 04:10 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

well I went to stock clock and now my temp hovers are 53 while gaming and folding
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2012, 01:07 AM
EmptyMellon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 434

My System Specs

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
It automatically sets up when you install the client...so I'm not sure what you mean.

Show me what you mean, and I'll fix it.
I believe it is this (minus the FAH GPU Tracker set-up steps) for Kepler GPUs: [Windows 7] How to set up folding on a nVidia 6xx Series (Kepler) GPU
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2012, 05:05 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,521

My System Specs

Default

it is the FAH GPU tracker that I use, and it does not seem to catch A4 cores at all, giving me more PPD.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 10:17 AM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default Upgrade or Clean Install V7

Guys a quick question. I have upgraded my F@H client control to V7 7.2.9 from V7 7.1.52. I was reading here somewhere that people felt it was stable and giving a boost in PPD. I have found the opposite. I have decreased my PPD with the upgrade about 5-10K PPD per machine. My question is, would it be better to do a clean install rather than the upgrade? The upgrade allows you to keep your data files and to resume folding from where you left off. I presume a clean install wipes out everything, and one starts over. Next question if one does a clean install is there other steps that need to be taken to remove all hints of the past installation? Such as registry cleaning.

thanks!!!
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 12:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 222

My System Specs

Default

Hello, I just joined this. I'm not sure if im posting in the wrong thread, but id like a folding tag?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 12:54 PM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PcWizTech View Post
Hello, I just joined this. I'm not sure if im posting in the wrong thread, but id like a folding tag?

probably should post that here:
New HCF folding members please post here for intro and tag requests!

cheers and welcome
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2013, 07:57 AM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoTech View Post
Guys a quick question. I have upgraded my F@H client control to V7 7.2.9 from V7 7.1.52. I was reading here somewhere that people felt it was stable and giving a boost in PPD. I have found the opposite. I have decreased my PPD with the upgrade about 5-10K PPD per machine. My question is, would it be better to do a clean install rather than the upgrade? The upgrade allows you to keep your data files and to resume folding from where you left off. I presume a clean install wipes out everything, and one starts over. Next question if one does a clean install is there other steps that need to be taken to remove all hints of the past installation? Such as registry cleaning.

thanks!!!
Not sure if anyone saw this. So I am fishing again.

thanks
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2013, 08:47 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

I'm on 7.2.9. I haven't noticed any difference in PPD from one to the other, then again, I also changed cards when I changed to the new version. Plus, I was getting those 8057 beta units, so PPD actually went drastically UP.

For the folding data, look in: C:\Users\YourName\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient

All your WU information should be there.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding@Home Windows and PS3 Starter's Guide: FAQ, Links to Guides chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 28 April 4, 2014 06:41 PM
SMP install guide for Folding @ Home SugarJ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 41 March 16, 2012 11:10 AM
-Bigadv Users Must Upgrade Client Now !! LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 March 3, 2011 02:57 PM
Heads-up for GPU3 users with older GPUs: updated client chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 0 October 26, 2010 05:16 PM
Quick guide to using your PS3 for Folding@Home chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 22 May 2, 2010 09:16 AM