Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2012, 04:25 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Quebec city
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default SR-2 question

Hi everyone.

I'm using an sr-2 motherboard, with 6 x 4gb samsung ddr3-1600 (yes the tiny black ones), two l5639 and watercooling for folding.

I was using a 203 x 18 combination until this week-end, as outside temp lowered below 20c, i tought i'd check what kind of max oc i could get.

Turns out i'm stable at 210 x 18 (intel burn test, y-cruncher and more than 10 frames of a 8101 wu all passed with flying colors). I'm open to any tips to go beyond.

Thing is i keep getting graphic driver recovery errors. How can i stop that?

A few meaningful voltages, according to aida64 and e-leet:

Both cpu: 1,364v
Both vtt: 1,39v
IOH: 1,37v
IOH PLL: 1,78v
Both DRAM: 1,56v

On a side note, is it normal i see temps is 45-50 c zone for the core 0 to 5 of each cpu (in core temp, real temp, e-leet and aida64), but i got cpu0 socket temp to 66c. CPU1 is in the same range. What are the readings i can trust to check my temps? socket or cores?

Thanks everyone in advance.

Last edited by Feanor; September 16, 2012 at 05:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2012, 05:53 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,256

My System Specs

Default

Sorry I have no tips for you, you may be at the limit that your setup will go. That is a pretty good overclock as it is.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2012, 05:56 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

I second that. Drop the OC by 1-2 blck. As for the temps, always rely on the cores.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2012, 06:42 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

210 bclk. Thats pretty darn good. I'd say you are at the max of those cpu's as well and 50 degree cpu's under load is very safe.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2012, 05:01 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Quebec city
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

Ok then. I'll stick with that. I'm just not very confortable with one temp (even if it is not relevant/accurate) in the 70 c range on a 1000$ setup...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2012, 09:17 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feanor View Post
Ok then. I'll stick with that. I'm just not very confortable with one temp (even if it is not relevant/accurate) in the 70 c range on a 1000$ setup...
Those are impressively low vtt and ioh volts for 210 too! I need 1.4 to break 200, 1.425 to break 210 on both my SR-2's.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2012, 06:23 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Quebec city
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

Seems like windows and linux doesn't like the same settings: ubuntu freeze at 207 bclk, but is stable at 206. Windows was ok up to 210 bclk. Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2012, 06:51 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,256

My System Specs

Default

Hmm, my sr2 was originally overclocked using windows, when I switched to Linux nothing changed. Just wondering why the switch to Linux, are you folding with it?

Googling does not return much of anything.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 09:21 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,747
Default

Wow, is this my old set up? Impressive OC! I never really tried much over 3.2GHZ, seems like you've really spent some time fine tuning!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 10:30 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,610

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
I never really tried much over 3.2GHZ
Geez, I am not even there. I guess I'll need some WC. Can you install h60 on the Mountain Mods 18 case?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes