Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2012, 05:56 PM
SwingOP3's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Regina
Posts: 122
Default Internet Outage - Update

Well it looks like this mornings thunderstorm took out my router. ISP says they won't be able to replace the router until Saturday afternoon so there will be no folding done until then.
__________________

Last edited by SwingOP3; July 15, 2012 at 11:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2012, 06:02 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,029

My System Specs

Default

Maitance time I gues ... defrag drives and clean out dust.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2012, 06:12 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,400

My System Specs

Default

Yeah thats a good opportunity to get some work done on the rig. Sucks though to have the router down that long though.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2012, 06:45 PM
SwingOP3's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Regina
Posts: 122
Default

Yes. There is much dusting to do
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2012, 07:22 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,402

My System Specs

Default

You can't just pick up a replacement at a retail outlet?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2012, 08:23 PM
SwingOP3's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Regina
Posts: 122
Default

It's an ISP supplied router. Apparently they are only able to deliver and plug it in. In the past I was able to go get a replacement at their store - not this time, I guess.

Truth be told, considering the heat and humidity we've had recently a short break isn't all that bad.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2012, 07:28 AM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 216
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SwingOP3 View Post
It's an ISP supplied router. Apparently they are only able to deliver and plug it in. In the past I was able to go get a replacement at their store - not this time, I guess.

Truth be told, considering the heat and humidity we've had recently a short break isn't all that bad.
Yeah, Sasktel sucks for that. and they don't support any modem's they don't supply.
I'm with Sasktel and I was able to convince the install guy to give me a business modem instead of the gateway that they normally supply as I have my own router that I prefer to use.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2012, 10:25 AM
SwingOP3's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Regina
Posts: 122
Default

Well, Sasktel came to replace the router. He confirmed that it was shot. Hooked the new one up and checked the folding pc and no network connection. He checked the cable and it is good. It would appear that now my nic is fried or something. Troubleshooting tonight
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2012, 01:06 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,402

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SwingOP3 View Post
Well, Sasktel came to replace the router. He confirmed that it was shot. Hooked the new one up and checked the folding pc and no network connection. He checked the cable and it is good. It would appear that now my nic is fried or something. Troubleshooting tonight
Having both the nic and the router pack it in from thunderstorm damage is pretty typical.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2012, 02:39 PM
SwingOP3's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Regina
Posts: 122
Default

Good to know. It took out two switches as well. Can I assume that picking up a nic card will solve my situation?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
65 Hour Power Outage lechumbl HardwareCanucks F@H Team 10 January 24, 2012 03:53 AM
Telus Outage? Keywork Off Topic 6 September 14, 2010 07:38 PM
shaw outage? bissa Off Topic 12 March 4, 2010 10:35 AM
Problem after power outage... Rausch Troubleshooting 5 October 27, 2009 07:58 PM
kelowna power outage bissa Off Topic 5 August 14, 2009 02:54 PM