Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2008, 11:16 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,724

My System Specs

Default

sswilson, aside from opening the log repeatedly from either the F@H icon in the tool bar thingy or manually opening it from explorer I don't think so. If this were a linux or unix based OS you could just keep using cat from a terminal with minimal key presses I think. I suppose if anyone is handy in python or something they could whip up a little app to display the file and just refresh it every now and then in a little window.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2008, 12:04 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

I have a 2400pro in one of my kids machines, I wonder if I should give it a try. Right now it is putting out 90-120 PPD using the AM2 3100+ sempron so I wonder if the GPU would put out more points?
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2008, 01:28 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,837

My System Specs

Default

why cant you do this with nvidia cards? seems a great way to get soem extra use out your card.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2008, 05:14 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Seems to be working for me. Only 5% CPU usage, inc ppd to 5k on duo! Have to give it a few days before I conlude it is working properly tho.



Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Has anybody found an easy way to monitor this client yet?
FAH Monitor, just set up the log file.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2008, 06:00 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,570

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Seems to be working for me. Only 5% CPU usage, inc ppd to 5k on duo! Have to give it a few days before I conlude it is working properly tho.



FAH Monitor, just set up the log file.
Ok I got it up and running now. Couldn't find the log file.

97 points for a WU???? heh gonna take a long time to get any kind of points that way...... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2008, 07:13 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,570

My System Specs

Default

227 PPD for my lowly 3450 :)

Gonna try the win smp with the e1200 (no virtualization so no VMWare).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2008, 09:21 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Yeah that WU only takes an hour tho so not so bad.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2008, 01:23 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,724

My System Specs

Default

My biggest issue from a dialup user's standpoint is how frequently it needs to connect to upload results. Might be nice if it could queue up 5-10 WUs then after banging through them upload results from all at the same time.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2008, 07:24 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,570

My System Specs

Default

Doing much better with the 3870.

It looks like it's putting out 2400+, and with the spare cpu cycles running a standard xp console I'm going to put out 2680 if things work out.

I don't know if it would be worth running the smp in the background, or how much that would affect the gpu folding. (I was getting around 2400 with the cpu linux smp folding so I'm up so far.... :) ).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2008, 08:42 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

Ive have the SMP client running at 3.2ghz on qx6700, 1600 fsb at 80 percent usage. Holding at 60 C with stock voltages

The GPU client on the 3870 x2 @ 900 Mhz Core/1000 Mhz Mem at 80 percent usage, fan at 40 percent fixed and holding at 53 C with ambient at 21 C
We will see if it pumps it up.
__________________
Code:
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes