Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2007, 08:18 PM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Just a quick note that fahmon now works right out of the box with the SMP beta.

Seems to me I looked at it a while back and it required a few hoops to jump through with SMP so I set it off to the side to look at later.

I installed it last month and was pleased to see that it worked without any problems.
Yes .. the last upgrade i did to v 2.2.1a fixed a lot of problems. It works very well now.

U_F has done a great job with it adding a few enhancements. Before i switched to smp, i was monitoring up to 35 standard client instances and fahmon was more usable for simple monitoring than emiii, although i ran both.
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2007, 08:21 PM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Thanks Pete, that's exactly what I was looking for.

John
You are welcome.

Always happy to help
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2007, 05:07 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Odd message after 44%:

"Gromacs cannot continue further.
Going to send back what have done"

???
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2007, 05:21 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,639

My System Specs

Default

Has anything changed on the folding rig? Did you change the OC on it?

It means that the core program became corrupted, or that it thinks it's corrupted because an OC isn't stable.

Normally it'll dump whatever data you had, and dl a new copy of the core.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2007, 05:25 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,639

My System Specs

Default

I just had a wierd one myself.......

The laptop was slowing down and finally displayed a "your hard drive is too full" error message.......

At first I thought one of the young lad's had filled it up with some form of crap, but it turned out to be the FAH log file....It had grown to 36 Gig!!!!!!!!!!

That's a hell of a lot on an 80 gig drive. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2007, 05:28 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Has anything changed on the folding rig? Did you change the OC on it?

It means that the core program became corrupted, or that it thinks it's corrupted because an OC isn't stable.

Normally it'll dump whatever data you had, and dl a new copy of the core.
It's a customer rig that is back for maintenance - and the owner specified that the OC (E6400 @ 3.4) was gone. He didn't notice when.

So it's unstable - oddly enough, Orthos ran for 25 hours with no errors.

I installed F@H for the fun of it... knowing that it is very sensible to instability.

Thanks.

John
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2007, 05:30 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I just had a wierd one myself.......

The laptop was slowing down and finally displayed a "your hard drive is too full" error message.......

At first I thought one of the young lad's had filled it up with some form of crap, but it turned out to be the FAH log file....It had grown to 36 Gig!!!!!!!!!!

That's a hell of a lot on an 80 gig drive. :)
36Gig of text, right? Wow. How long has it been running?
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2007, 05:32 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,639

My System Specs

Default

Long enough apparently.... it's up to 22 WUs since I first installed it.

I didnt' bother to to try to open it.... probably would have crashed on me as I only had 196 meg free space....... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2007, 08:28 PM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Odd message after 44%:

"Gromacs cannot continue further.
Going to send back what have done"

???
This is on standard client?

The parameters used by the researchers in the simulation can result in some wu's not being able to complete. These are not the same as EUE's caused by an unstable rig.

Assuming the results were returned to the server then the wu will be reassigned to 3? other rigs to see if they also error.

If you only rarely see these it should not be an unstable oc causing it.

Some projects are more prone to these kind of errors than others but stanford tries not to release projects past beta or advmethods if the failure rate is too high (~ > a few %) since it can cause a lot of concern with the average folder.

But at that high of an oc i suspect it was unstable.

Last edited by pscout; July 13, 2007 at 08:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2007, 08:38 PM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I just had a wierd one myself.......

The laptop was slowing down and finally displayed a "your hard drive is too full" error message.......

At first I thought one of the young lad's had filled it up with some form of crap, but it turned out to be the FAH log file....It had grown to 36 Gig!!!!!!!!!!

That's a hell of a lot on an 80 gig drive. :)
If the client doesn't get restarted once in a while the fahlog.txt will just keep growing. the verbosity 9 flag makes it worse since more is written to the log.

The fahlog gets pruned once it get past ~ 50 K and the most recent is moved to fahlog-prev.txt .... but this only happens once when the client is started.

But I dunno how you could have filled that much of a log with only 22 wu's tho. The beta does have problems deleting files from the work directory. The biggest fahlog.txt I ever recall having seen was one of my gpu clients that produced ~1000 eue's in less than a day and it was only 1-2 MB.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
f@h , fah , folding , folding @ home

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP pro or home? mgp141 CPU's and Motherboards 18 January 6, 2008 07:07 AM
Home Theatres, Whos Got One ? lcdguy Off Topic 11 May 10, 2007 12:12 PM
Home Security Shadowed Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 April 23, 2007 01:05 PM
Microsoft Home Server D1GGY Networking 2 March 7, 2007 06:58 PM