Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2008, 07:36 AM
Mr. Cipher's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 458
Default

I'm running two command-line clients now. I went through and installed them in two different directories, assigned affinity through the setup and changed the registry settings. It's all good now! Thanks :)

I wish I understood why some people have low WUs and wickedly high points, and then people like myself have low WUs and very little points. Either way, I barely notice it now (command-line vs. gui)
__________________
i7 Red
EVGA X58 Classy | i7 920 D0 | Megahalems w. 1 noctua push| Mushkin Redline | Radeon HD 6870 | 2x640 WD Black | Corsair HX1000 | HAF 932 | Asus 26" LCD

C2Q Blue
Gigabyte EP45-UD3p | Q8400 @ 2.66ghz | Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w. Scythe | Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 5-5-5-15-2T @ 400mhz |
BFG GTX 295 | 1.32TB WD HDDs | Corsair HX 620 W | Antec 900 | Acer 20" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #102 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2008, 08:02 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

It depends which client you are using. GUI<command-line client<SMP Win<SMP Linux, and somewhere in there the GPU client. A major factor also is the CPU you are using, since the WUs assigned are different depending how many cores FAH recongnizes.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #103 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2008, 10:25 AM
Mr. Cipher's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 458
Default

I D/L the FAH504-console, I don't know if that is the SMP client or not.

I have an e2180 @ 3.4ghz at the moment.
__________________
i7 Red
EVGA X58 Classy | i7 920 D0 | Megahalems w. 1 noctua push| Mushkin Redline | Radeon HD 6870 | 2x640 WD Black | Corsair HX1000 | HAF 932 | Asus 26" LCD

C2Q Blue
Gigabyte EP45-UD3p | Q8400 @ 2.66ghz | Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w. Scythe | Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 5-5-5-15-2T @ 400mhz |
BFG GTX 295 | 1.32TB WD HDDs | Corsair HX 620 W | Antec 900 | Acer 20" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #104 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2008, 06:09 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Cipher View Post
I D/L the FAH504-console, I don't know if that is the SMP client or not.

I have an e2180 @ 3.4ghz at the moment.
That would be the regular console client. The SMP client identifies it self as an smp client in the name. Also the installation process is longer than the regular client.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #105 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2008, 03:22 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Hey all, my quad rig is taking a little break.... turns out my somewhat gimped Maximus board is now fully Gimped....It wont last a day running....whenever I come home from work it's still running, but I cant get a display... I feel so dumb now for when I forgot about that silly mobo standoff that was definitely in the wrong place..... Oh well, just means spending more money!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #106 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 09:50 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,606
Default

Of course, now I am trying to get into Folding a bit and naturally I have some questions.

First of all, my CPU client is currently working on the "Amber" core. I have never heard of this core but it looks like it will take FOREVER to complete (even with a QX9770) while only netting me 171 points. Is this normal?

Next of all, in FAHMON, the CPU client shows itself in Yellow instead of the normal green. Does that signify an error?

Am I using the right client with the standard CPU client (systray client) downloaded from the main F@H page?
Reply With Quote
  #107 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 09:53 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,411

My System Specs

Default

What client are you running? If it's the console client, then yeah, they take forever (relative to the GPU or SMP client) to finish. I use the console on my quad GPU/Console/Rosetta setup but that's only to take up the slack on the two cores I'ved dedicated to GPU folding.

Edit:

Yellow signifies that it's not sure if you'll finish the WU in time. You'll almost always see that when you first start the folding client.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #108 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 09:54 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

You want the SMP client from this page:

Folding@home - DownloadWinOther
Reply With Quote
  #109 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 09:57 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,606
Default

I think I found my problem. The GPU client is eating up about 37% - 50% of my CPU usage when runing. WTF?
Reply With Quote
  #110 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 10:00 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,411

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I think I found my problem. The GPU client is eating up about 37% - 50% of my CPU usage when runing. WTF?
That's normal.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
f@h , fah , folding , folding @ home

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP pro or home? mgp141 CPU's and Motherboards 18 January 6, 2008 07:07 AM
Home Theatres, Whos Got One ? lcdguy Off Topic 11 May 10, 2007 12:12 PM
Home Security Shadowed Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 April 23, 2007 01:05 PM
Microsoft Home Server D1GGY Networking 2 March 7, 2007 06:58 PM