Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 10:37 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default v7 client keeps failing

I downloaded the v7 fah control console lastnight SMP&GPU version, and this morning I see the GPU portion failed in the night. Any ideas? it for sure was not temps, CPU peaked @46C, GPU 63C.Was not a failed overclock either all running @ stock settings. I have successfully folded with SMP on CPU, and GPU2 GPU clients on there own with no failures.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 02:27 PM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Well launched it again and again at %2X it hard locked my PC this time instead of failing, baffling.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 02:32 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,402

My System Specs

Default

Make sure only one client is running, and perhaps try different drivers (if you have ruled out heat)
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 02:39 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Which project was it on when it failed?
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 03:23 PM
PerryC's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burton, NB
Posts: 737

My System Specs

Default

I have found with my V7 client that the monitor can not be turned off, whether I physically shut it off or the power saving features shut it off. A screen saver coming on that is all black is fine, as long as the monitor doesn't turn off or go to sleep. Also I have found that if I pause a the client HFM will report the WUs as failed when in fact they haven't failed.
__________________
The oath to serve your country did not include a contract for normal luxury, and comforts enjoyed within our society. On the contrary it implies hardships, loyalty and devotion to duty, regardless of rank
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 04:02 PM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
Which project was it on when it failed?
7808.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 04:04 PM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PerryC View Post
I have found with my V7 client that the monitor can not be turned off, whether I physically shut it off or the power saving features shut it off. A screen saver coming on that is all black is fine, as long as the monitor doesn't turn off or go to sleep. Also I have found that if I pause a the client HFM will report the WUs as failed when in fact they haven't failed.
changed my power settings so the monitor stays on and restarted the project we will see if that helps, don't use a screensaver.
Hmmm, now my GPU isn't being used, just SMP8 folding now, before it was SMP&GPU at once, not liking this new v7 client at all.

Last edited by Adzsask; May 5, 2012 at 04:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 04:11 PM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

This has went from baffling to frustrating, quit and restarted the client, now it is GPU&SMP8 folding...is this right with the SMP&GPU client?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 04:17 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

I use the v7 client for smp & the older v6 client for gpu folding. Even so, once and a while, a 7xxx gpu project will not send itself once it completes. I have to close & restart it, then it sends itself off.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 05:30 PM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Well made it to %63 so far with this 8019, all i changed was my screen not turning off, and raising priority of FAH client.

Last edited by Adzsask; May 5, 2012 at 07:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sapphire 6950 2GB Fan failing w0z Video Cards 1 March 28, 2012 07:51 AM
ACC 0% 12% -12% what do these do? Core 0 always failing 0o0 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 February 16, 2010 06:56 PM
I think my 8800GT is failing! doup93 Troubleshooting 15 July 17, 2009 07:23 PM
harddrive failing. help please kyle_L Troubleshooting 2 May 10, 2009 06:44 PM
TF2 Failing? Infiniti Gaming 7 July 11, 2008 01:39 PM