Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 08:47 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,564

My System Specs

Default Project 7642 - Anybody else getting insane coil whine?

These things are driving me insane!!! They take forever to fold and make my GTX 470 SCREAM! I never knew coil whine could be this freaking loud, it's got to be at least 60db. Worst of all it's not a sine wave whine due to fluctuating GPU usage.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 06:37 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

Are those the new 511s?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 06:58 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,223

My System Specs

Default

I haven't heard much whining from my 550Ti for the last few months of folding on it, although it's folding a P8008 and I can hear the whine if I'm within 1m from the case.
Have you tried playing with the clock speed (over AND underclock)? If you're fed up enough and can deal with longer completion time, you can underclock the memory to the point where you starve the WU and get less whining.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 07:26 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,397

My System Specs

Default

i don't think memory speed has anything to do with it, as I underclocked the memory on my gt430 to min value and the PPD production stayed the same, and this was for like whole week, but today when I tried to restart the gpu folding stopped last night, my GTX275 cannot get any unit, says unstable machine. for the moment I stopped the GPU folding. Best case scenario temps will get a bit lower, but for the wine, the solution is to downclock the chip speed, or shaders
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2012, 11:38 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,564

My System Specs

Default

Noise doesn't get much better unless I drop the shader speeds well below 300mhz, at that point I run into the problem of potentially missing deadlines since I only GPU fold on off peak hours.

I think I'm going to have to go back to the old GPU client and accept only small projects.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2012, 10:21 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,397

My System Specs

Default

I solved my issue uninstalling, reboot, and re installing the driver, might want to do the same with yours, my gt430 is not getting this WU like you do, I guess the system is judging it too slow, but I remember this range of WUs were coming on my GTX460 and it was making it running super hot. if you use gpu tracker V2 you might want to add a new rule and set the GPU usage to a lower value, like 80% might solve the issue. As for me I will stop GPU folding for the duration of the summer, but will do GPU fold for the CC.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2012, 04:25 PM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 283

My System Specs

Default

So far no whine. I am now running a 7643 WU for 7718 points. Its running on a GTS450 evga card. Heres the bad news it says 3.43 days to complete it. Never seen one like this some say a day but 3 days for 7718 points wow. Is this common ????
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2012, 04:33 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

Give it a few frames to assess the tpf.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2012, 04:36 PM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 283

My System Specs

Default

OK will do and thanks for quick reply 3.0charlie!! Scared me, 3 days for 7718 points.
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU Coil whine ? Kilauea Power Supplies 9 April 3, 2011 07:24 PM
Annoying Whine from System at Idle Eluder Troubleshooting 8 February 4, 2011 06:27 AM
RMA PSU for that capacitor whine? JD Troubleshooting 18 July 6, 2010 10:07 AM
Overclock to get rid of coil whine? Technokat Video Cards 0 December 2, 2009 12:35 PM
coil whine issues (pic) lexmark1 Power Supplies 11 May 29, 2009 07:19 AM