Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 06:40 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,289

My System Specs

Default What os to use with my dual quad core c32 build

So I have all my stuff ready for my dual CPU c32 build for folding, but what OS should I use?? I have access to anything just dunno what to use.
Specs
2x 4130 c32 quad
Asus kcma-d8 mobo
32gb corsair ram
Dual 76gb raptors
Card pending
What is the best os for this build?? Thanks
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 06:42 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

Ubuntu 10.10

No need of a GPU on a folding rig.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 06:54 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,228

My System Specs

Default

^ Word, there are some good guides out there for installing but they escape me at the moment.


Aaahhh, I think I used this one:
Ubuntu Desktop Installation Guide for F@H - [H]ard|Forum
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 07:07 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,289

My System Specs

Default

Will I lose lots from just sticking with windows and if I stay with windows what would be the best version, when this system is done with its folding uses it will be my backup gamer and home server.
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 07:17 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

Just for the CC, use 'nix. PPD is worthwhile. Stoanee's link is called Musky's Mix, a Ubuntu install I have followed numerous times. If you do it by the letter, it is relatively easy to set up.
Once over, use W7 Pro or Ultimate so that both sockets are recognized.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 07:19 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,228

My System Specs

Default

Linux kicks ass for folding. Just dual boot or run one hdd with Linux & another one with windoze.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 07:24 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,289

My System Specs

Default

Fine you two win Linux it is I will grab some 1tb's tomorrow from work and setup 1 as linux and then the raptors as windows in raid 0 :)
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 08:45 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 539

My System Specs

Default

Another option is to run Linux in a virtual box inside a windows install.

I have two machines running it, one using VMware player for 8 threads and Virtual box for 12. Note: VMware player must be version 3.0.

Excellent guide for bigadv setup can be found here:VMware && Linux bigadv folding
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2012, 01:29 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,289

My System Specs

Default

Can I GPU fold in Linux????

Never used linux other then to hack my PSP years ago haha
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2012, 01:41 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soullessone21 View Post
Can I GPU fold in Linux????

Never used linux other then to hack my PSP years ago haha
I think you can but, it isn't nearly as good as in windows due to drivers I think.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Core to Quad, makes sense? astro_man New Builds 13 August 9, 2010 01:57 PM
new dual quad build. kyle_L New Builds 6 March 30, 2010 10:48 PM
is a quad core phenom or phenom2 better then intel dual core? Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 9 September 7, 2009 07:05 PM
[WTB] Quad or high end Dual Core mailaw Buy/Sell & Trade 1 November 28, 2008 03:18 PM
WTB/WTT: LGA775 Quad Core/Dual Core Chilly Buy/Sell & Trade 7 November 10, 2008 11:46 PM