Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2012, 11:48 AM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default Added a GT9800 and now all GPU's halted

Just wondered if someone can point me in right direction. On my one system I have a evga 560 ti 448 UC and decided to add an old GT9800 evga card to help fold. I added the card and powered up and the SMP (cpu) is working but both cards FS says running but cards aren't heating up and % work done hasn't changed. Help is needed. Everything was fine till I added the 2nd card.
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2012, 12:01 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,248

My System Specs

Default

Fermi does not play nice with older nvidia cards. You have to configure your clients.

Read this:
Folding@home - WinGPUGuide
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2012, 12:05 PM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

Thanks Stoanee. Is that why on my other rig the 560 and a 450 work together fine? I am using the V7 client so not sure how I would configure cards in it. Thought I had them set kinda the same as other rig. I am now trying new driver install.
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2012, 12:24 PM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

Stoanee again thanks for the quick reply. I decided to remove the gt9800 for now. Not sure if I would have to remove the V7 client and install the other version. All is well now the 560 is chugging away. Maybe down the road I will see about adding another fermi card.
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2012, 01:04 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,462

My System Specs

Default

what PPD is that 9800GT giving you?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2012, 03:05 PM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

Marstg, I have no idea. New to folding. I found the card in my box of things and decided to add it to a evga 560 ti 448 cora ultra classified. I hooked it up and it would not fold. V7 client said running but % work done never moved and a GPU benchmark app said not working(hard). I took it out. I have another rig that has a 560 ti and a gts450 in it and both gpus crunch away. I have read people say that the gt9800 can get anywhere from 2500-5000 PPD. Hope that helps.
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2012, 03:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,462

My System Specs

Default

you can try the GPU tracker that as you can see I am pushing it everywhere, I run with that, and had a gtx460, gts 250 and 9800GTX+ in the same time on the same rig and they were working fine together. Driver 260.99 WHQL
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2012, 03:57 PM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

I am using folding at home client control version 7.1.52 . I haven't tried earlier versions. Not sure what gpu tracker is but till now i was running no problems. And like i said the other rig is working fine with 2 fermi gpu's. Stoanee was saying that fermi does not play well with older gpu's. So for now I guess I will keep my eye open for another 4, 5 series video card.
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TSMC production halted?? MonsterSound Rumor Mill 7 March 14, 2012 05:56 AM
New build added new stuff to it LacrosseTown New Builds 38 May 19, 2010 08:32 PM
DAM Good Deals Added Gav Hardware Canucks Store 8 February 7, 2009 06:36 AM