Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 02:48 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default Updated GPU folding guide?

Hey guys, starting to fold again now that the GPUs have been moved downstairs!

Is there an updated guide for folding on GPUs? I just installed from the F@H website and my first WU took me 2 days good for 2500 pts .... let's just say I was a little disappointed...any flags I'm missing?

Using a GTS450 and just bought 2x GTX560Ti

Thanks!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 02:50 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

What are you using as a client? The V7 client is easy peasy.... no flags required, and no work to set it up so long as you're not running a 680....
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 03:20 PM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 285

My System Specs

Default

I must say I am completely new to folding. I started by downloading the v7 client and I'd say its as easy as point and clic. Very intuitive. I do run win 7 64 bit and have found that leaving the monitor on 24/7 stops the gpu clients from reporting failures. I am running 2 pc's. Both are on Asus boards, 1 is a i7 2700 and the other i7 3820. The 3820 also has 2 gpu's. 1 is a gts 450 the other a gtx 560 ti SC. On the 2700 there is only one gpu, a gtx 560 ti 448 UC. Both machines report a 24/7 PPD of about 23k to 30k depending on units received. Happy folding!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 04:42 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

Where do you guys find this v7 client?

(Sorry for being lazy I have a final paper due tonight and I'm taking multiple HWC breaks )
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 04:54 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,683

My System Specs

Default

https://fah-web.stanford.edu/project...ki/BetaRelease
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 05:09 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

Thanks charlie

Yeah ... was still using the systray version. I'll give that a try tonight or tomorrow.

Is nVidia GPU Linux folding a viable option? I'd rather pop my GPUs in the Linux server vs my Win server 2008.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 05:10 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,683

My System Specs

Default

Not that I know of.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2012, 08:02 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,630

My System Specs

Default

You can use fah gpu tracker V2. You can use the autodetect function and additionally you can use -advmethods flags even for gpu client. You might get large units and the gpus will run hot so be prepared with good cooling. You can extrapolate some results from my experience.
My GT430 (96 SPs @ 730MHz) was doing as in the picture with the Fermi optimized client
Attached Images
   
__________________

Last edited by MARSTG; April 23, 2012 at 03:21 AM. Reason: looks weird
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 09:55 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

The FAH client 7 keeps failing to get a new WU every time after it's done the current one and I have to mess around with it, stopping/restarting every time to get it to pick up work again. Anyone else getting similar issues?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 11:15 AM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 216
Default

Is it sleeping? there was a thread not long ago about gpu sleeping when it was done a wu. Might help?
GPU3 goes to sleep after a WU is completed
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding@Home Windows and PS3 Starter's Guide: FAQ, Links to Guides chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 28 April 4, 2014 07:41 PM
SMP install guide for Folding @ Home SugarJ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 41 March 16, 2012 12:10 PM
6 GPU folding computer/need help with dedicated folding machine Silent_Avenger New Builds 11 December 25, 2011 02:17 PM
folding@home thread. Updated as necessary - _dangtx_ _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 628 June 25, 2010 09:48 PM
Quick guide to using your PS3 for Folding@Home chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 22 May 2, 2010 10:16 AM