Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 01:38 PM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

I'm getting about 18K PPD on those 8035 units at stock clocks with no boost or OC, with a TPF of 2:59 - 3:03.

It's working at 99% apparently, but from what I've heard the Core 15 units are not great on these cards.

I added the new GPU.TXT file into the Data directory (as specified), then I paused the client prior to unit download and changed the GPU slot to client-type beta

Not bad for the power usage but I'd hope with proper units/cores it will go into the 20K range.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 02:19 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10e View Post
I'm getting about 18K PPD on those 8035 units at stock clocks with no boost or OC, with a TPF of 2:59 - 3:03.

It's working at 99% apparently, but from what I've heard the Core 15 units are not great on these cards.

I added the new GPU.TXT file into the Data directory (as specified), then I paused the client prior to unit download and changed the GPU slot to client-type beta

Not bad for the power usage but I'd hope with proper units/cores it will go into the 20K range.
That sounds pretty consistant with what folks have been reporting on the FAH forums. FAH output seems to be equivalent to what a slightly OC'd 560 ti (standard) puts out.

I hope they get some kind of tweaking done in time for the CC.... ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 02:58 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,680

My System Specs

Default

Bah, no WU's available on the Server. Just my luck.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 03:43 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,680

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
21:41:27:WARNING: Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
21:41:27:ERROR: Exception: Could not get an assignment
On and on and on and on... why is that everytime I play with folding, something just does not work?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 05:23 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,531
Default

/me waits for the real Kepler.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 05:09 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,680

My System Specs

Default

Why do sometimes I even try... having the latest Client would help, no?

NO?

Lookie here, it works. As for ppd, we shall see... picked up a 8033 for its first crack at it.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2012, 06:51 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
That sounds pretty consistant with what folks have been reporting on the FAH forums. FAH output seems to be equivalent to what a slightly OC'd 560 ti (standard) puts out.

I hope they get some kind of tweaking done in time for the CC.... ;)
One would hope something more optimized becomes available by then to take full advantage of the more, but slower shaders architecture.

I just bought another 24 cores to help out with the CC. Yay... Beavers ... and ... hamsters.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Why do sometimes I even try... having the latest Client would help, no?

NO?

Lookie here, it works. As for ppd, we shall see... picked up a 8033 for its first crack at it.
You are only able to get the complex stuff going John. The easy stuff is too hard for you
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2012, 08:19 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,680

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, well it ain't happening. V7 latest iteration recognized the 680 fine, but it hust hangs at 0% (left it overnight). Precision shows it's werking, temps are mid-40s under load. But not ppd. Gah.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2012, 08:29 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

What's the percentage of load the GPU is showing?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2012, 08:30 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,680

My System Specs

Default

GPU-z shows 0%.

Teni, which drivers are you using with your 680?

Edit: 0%, not 100...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...

Last edited by 3.0charlie; April 21, 2012 at 08:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RIM Delaying Playbook Update, No Email Client Until 2012 Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 October 26, 2011 06:38 PM
[FS] *UPDATE WEEKLY* ~ Chere's Computer Parts Sale ~ *UPDATE WEEKLY* Chere Buy/Sell & Trade 41 October 15, 2011 08:51 PM
Update On The v7 Client LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 10 June 26, 2010 09:48 PM
to update ff or not to update, zat is ze question... _dangtx_ Off Topic 8 February 23, 2010 01:07 AM
Update your SMP beta client before it expires Oct 1 pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 September 30, 2007 11:19 PM