Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2012, 11:05 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default Have no Clue how to FOLD:P

I need help as I want to help, I own more then a few high end systems but the issue is, I am all AMD FX in my house now, I have 3 FX systems ranging from my 4100 6100 and 8150 all AMD GPU's 6970 2 x 7770 and 6770 I want to know if I could help fold in anyway and if someone has time to walk me through setting it up, Teamviewer might be our friend on this one haha.

I have no clue about anything to do with folding other then its a good cause.(PS I dont even fold my own laundry :Phaha I had to)

Does anyone have time to help me later this week getting this setup?
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2012, 11:27 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

Download and run the installer from here: Folding@home - Main

Put in your username and Team 54196.

You are now folding.

Get a passkey from here, input it to get more points once you have folded 10 SMP units: Folding@Home
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2012, 11:33 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Thanks my SugarJ
I will get on this tonight, wife leaves the 3 computers on all day to play music through, DL items and to game, so I might only have 2 folding during the day since her rig is always gaming haha
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2012, 04:23 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

Depending on the game , and the hardware , she might be able to game while folding.....I've had rig's that could.My current one will sometimes.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2012, 07:30 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

what are average folding scores?
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2012, 06:43 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

Well, my Phenom 965 does about 2-3000ppd, and my 7950 does 6-7000ppd. My 5830 used to also fold at 6-7000 ppd, so figure that one out!

I can also game while folding. Skyrim and Civ V run fine, but I need to pause my client when I play BF3. Which is rare these days anyways.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2012, 06:48 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, only downside of folding and AMD is the fact that the GPUs do not get an amazing amount of ppd vs nVidia cards.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2012, 07:03 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

Yup. Apparently a lowly GTX550Ti will get 4-5000ppd more than my 7950!!!!
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2012, 07:23 AM
PerryC's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burton, NB
Posts: 737

My System Specs

Default

A GTX8800 Ultra still gets about 8k ppd. My HD5750 gets 5500 ppd.
__________________
The oath to serve your country did not include a contract for normal luxury, and comforts enjoyed within our society. On the contrary it implies hardships, loyalty and devotion to duty, regardless of rank
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2012, 08:42 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

Well, no matter the points per day, every little bit helps. I'm not a dedicated enough folder to buy components just for their folding ability. If I was, I would have bought a GTX580. I buy my components for other reasons, and then put them to work folding. They fold what they fold, and that is all.

It's a very simple thing for you to just download the V7 client, install it, and not worry about it ever again. It'll fold in the background, and you'll be making a contribution. Oh ya, and your power bill will go up a bit

BTW Perry, I see you passed me in our friendly little competition. I stopped folding on HPCS a couple of weeks ago, and have just been working with my home machine.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No clue what these parts are! Please help ID'ing them jcmaz Off Topic 10 August 4, 2011 04:26 AM
Can't Fold on GTX 460 geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 March 23, 2011 06:14 PM
I have know clue how to overclock my CPU Shadowmeph Guides & How-to's 14 February 15, 2009 06:49 PM
Tons of hdtvs, no clue which to choose Jonwall Display Units 13 December 26, 2008 04:38 AM
Why do You Fold? Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 August 28, 2007 05:02 PM