Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2012, 02:59 PM
QuickDeath's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina U.S.A
Posts: 105

My System Specs

Default i want to start folding

okay like the title says i want to start folding i dont have a super crazy rig like some of you here i but i want to help if i can.
just a few questions is there any password or anything specific i need to join you hc folding team?
and after i install the client its just the username and the folding name 54196 is this right bc i would like to fold to help

if i am missing anything please let me know. and please be simple about it lol i dont now much about folding or all the terms yet
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2012, 04:38 PM
PerryC's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burton, NB
Posts: 737

My System Specs

Default

Basically just grab whichever client is best suited to the system you are running, there are a couple of good guides here in the sticky portion of the folding at home section. Enter your user name and team number, you are off to the races.
__________________
The oath to serve your country did not include a contract for normal luxury, and comforts enjoyed within our society. On the contrary it implies hardships, loyalty and devotion to duty, regardless of rank
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2012, 06:02 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

List your rig components please. It'll be easier to help you then.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2012, 06:43 PM
QuickDeath's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina U.S.A
Posts: 105

My System Specs

Default

Intel Core i3 2100
corespeed: 5041.4 GHz



RAMHyundai Electronics
speed: PC3-10700 (667 MHz)
size: 2048 MBytes



Coolingcooler master 212


MotherboardZ68A-D3H-B3
revision: x.x



RAMHyundai Electronics
speed: PC3-10700 (667 MHz)
size: 8048 MBytes



OSwindows 7 64bit ulimate


GraphicsIntel HD Graphics 1000 (GT1)
memory: 1814 MBytes



Hard Drivewestern digital
capacity: 500 GBytes



Casecooler master 922 haf

i know its not great but i figure its a start and maybe help someone


Last edited by QuickDeath; February 29, 2012 at 06:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2012, 06:55 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Umm 5041.4 GHz? Anyways I would say your best bet is to run SMP. Don't expect huge points though probably only about 6k at stock. Check the stickies on how to install the SMP client it's pretty simple.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2012, 06:59 PM
QuickDeath's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina U.S.A
Posts: 105

My System Specs

Default

yea im not expeecting a million points but i figure i can help some and sorry im typing with the on screen keyboards

its a stock i3 lol
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2012, 04:44 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,626

My System Specs

Default

I am using the FAH GPU tracker V2. you can get it here FAH GPU Tracker V2 - Setup
also there is a quick preview on the page of how to. But why is the system in the signature shows i5 2500k? Anyway a stock i3 will get you around 4k PPD while the 2500k if you can get it at 4.5GHz will give you around 14K PPD. Have a general image here https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?...Bg&w=100&h=750
__________________

Last edited by MARSTG; March 8, 2012 at 04:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2012, 02:37 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,531
Default

It doesn't matter what you fold with !

Welcome to the team !!

-----

Despite the fact that some of us are FAH junkies , Distributed Computing really is about many small users working as a whole."Every drop counts , the old woman said as she pissed into the sea"



edit : once you get some WU's done be sure to say hi in the "folding tag" thread.
__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Start FAH, Stop FAH, Start FAH, FREEZE! frontier204 Troubleshooting 5 June 23, 2013 10:02 AM
Folding client V7 - SLI - Cannot use system during folding..fix? Jake_HT HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 January 18, 2012 11:17 AM
6 GPU folding computer/need help with dedicated folding machine Silent_Avenger New Builds 11 December 25, 2011 02:17 PM
Time to start folding??? Gav HardwareCanucks F@H Team 40 September 8, 2009 08:43 PM
Going to start folding soon Arinoth HardwareCanucks F@H Team 90 July 8, 2009 08:15 PM