Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 06:17 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 104

My System Specs

Default

I'm using FAH Client V7 so would this affect which WU's I get?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 06:27 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boggtrotter59 View Post
Came home to one dead machine... Was pushing the limits of my craptacular OCZ power supply anyway... The new work units must have pushed her over the edge... RIP .On a brighter note PPD is was up with the new units. My other fermi equiped rig is up 11K PPD (3 GTX 460's) and the other one is up around 10K PPD (2 GTX 470's)
Sweet mother-of-pearl, I was considering getting a newer/bigger psu for one machine, I guess I better make it a priority.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 07:12 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathus View Post
Not really sure as it depends on the WU and I'm not really sure what to look for but the current WU 11293 I am on says 5955 PPD with a TPF of 4 min 26 sec. Personally that seems really low but I don't really have personal experience to compare it with.
That sounds about right. My 7950 is currently doing about 6.5K PPD. Which is only about 1K more than my 5830 is currently doing. We definitely don't buy these cards for their folding capabilities.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 07:47 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bissa View Post
I don't get why you guys are getting all these really high heats. I went up from 60 to 66 with these projects. and that's with an OC of 1GHz.
There are a lot of variables, but in my case it's mostly due to close proximity of SLId cards... one card is currently running @ 70c, the other @ 84c.

If this keeps up I may just end up running a single client on the cooler card.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 07:51 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 104

My System Specs

Default

Why is it that the AMD cards are so horrible at folding? The AMD hardware is comparable with NVIDIA so is it just lack of optimization with the hardware?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 07:59 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

AFAIK Nvidia worked with Stanford to develop the GPU folding client. As such, they optimized it to work better with CUDA than with OpenCL.

EDIT: Also, there's an updated version of FAH V7 (7.1.48), so make sure to grab that and see what it does for you.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 08:30 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 104

My System Specs

Default

Thanks I will make sure to grab the update! I probably should finish my current WU's before installing eh? I wouldn't want to lost any progress.

*Edit* Looks like I am running version 7.1.43 so I'm already several releases behind :S Here's hoping that this helps my PPD a bit.
__________________

Last edited by Mathus; February 23, 2012 at 08:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 08:37 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

Here is the Link to 7.1.48

You can install the updated client without losing your WUs. Just pause and close your current client, and install the new one into the same directory. It will install over your existing client, and you'll keep on folding right where you were.

And I don't think that it will help your PPD too much. I think that mostly they just made the PPD calculations more accurate. But it IS always a good idea to have the latest version. Also, make sure you AMD drivers are up to date. I think there's a new beta one floating around somewhere. Not sure where it is. If anyone knows, let me know, I have to install it at home!
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 04:52 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeaverBender View Post
What SLI bridge do you use for a 1-4-7 setup? I've been thinking of doing this as well but I can't seem to find a good bridge for that arrangement.
They actually do not make a bridge capable of 1-4-7 tri-sli , so it's not surprizing you can't find one.

I run the first two in sli , 3rd does phys-x when required.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 05:16 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
Sweet mother-of-pearl, I was considering getting a newer/bigger psu for one machine, I guess I better make it a priority.
Probably not a bad idea... The power supply that bit the dust was a 550 watt OCZ... prior to the new work units it was running @ 460-470 watts IIRC according to the watt meter I have, definitely within spec but pushing it just a little... Not sure how much more power the new units draw but it was enough to pop the 550. Anyway, thank you 8031/8033 Now I get to buy a brand spanking new psu
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New GPU3 WUs? I don't like 'em... 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 June 14, 2011 08:37 AM
GPU3 Client Updated And Other News LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 17 February 3, 2011 06:21 PM
GPU3 Issues. (solved, new GPU3 WUs coming) ilya HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 September 20, 2010 09:16 PM
GPU3 IS AROUND THE CORNER! Sorta geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 13 May 2, 2010 02:18 PM
GPU3 In Public Beta Next Week geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 April 1, 2010 05:16 PM