Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 06:25 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 104

My System Specs

Default

Wow, the Radeon cards are that bad for folding huh? I would have thought that the 7000 series radeon cards would bring similiar computer performance compared to the nvidia 570 or 580 :(

You think that running F@H on my graphics card will impact the SMP folding by that much? When I run only the GPU client for folding my CPU is only at 12% utilization with a we browser open. Wouldn't it be better to use those spare CPU cycles for folding? Power costs aren't an issue at the moment since electricity is included on my rent :D I'm basically just trying to get as much folding as I can out of the gear that I have.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 11:39 AM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

ya, 12% is bad. when I'm just GPU folding, my CPU is at about .5% usage and that's probably just system overhead. NVIDIA has always been better for folding. and only recently have you even been able to fold on AMD cards at all.
and even now they are pretty bad as folding with AMD takes about 1 thread per card (or at least that's what I've heard).
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 01:15 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 104

My System Specs

Default

That really is unfortunate that the Radeon cards suck so much for folding. Ah well, I will just keep trucking along with what I have and perhaps in time I will upgrade to a 4P system. I thought about getting an nvidia card but gaming was my number one priority for this new card so in terms gaming performance the 7950 was king given my budget. The folding is an added touch but overall I'm happy with my purchase :)

On a side note, does anyone know how many PPD a PS3 gets?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 01:51 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 164
Default

Under 1k, I think about 700. I run mine but am on the point of not bothering. I know they do special units but power consumption seems out of wack.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 02:12 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Yea your best bet is to either SMP fold or bigadv fold. For example my dedicated folding rig I made with leftover parts from upgrading gets about ~7500ppd running a phenom II x4 955 and only pulls about ~135watts from the wall which is pretty decent power consumption considering the TDP of the 7950 is 200watts.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 03:08 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Are you using the V7 Client?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
Folding client V7 - SLI - Cannot use system during folding..fix? Jake_HT HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 January 18, 2012 10:17 AM
6 GPU folding computer/need help with dedicated folding machine Silent_Avenger New Builds 11 December 25, 2011 01:17 PM
folding on 3 core / core free for gpu folding phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 January 11, 2010 06:07 PM
Get me folding! KrisMRT HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 September 18, 2009 11:37 PM