Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2012, 01:42 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 164
Default perplexing FAH hard locks

Been trying to get a second computer worth folding on and am using:

Q9450 w/TRUE120
evga 780i mobo, using NB fan, have remounted NB/SB cooler
corsair hx520 ps, verified rails to be well within spec
4gb OCZ pc-8500 DDR2

I can get the computer stable at 3.4 without too much trouble, temps are alright, will run prime blend for days. Previous to getting the 9450 I had a E2140 @ 3.0 completely stable.

But, FAH won't remain stable at anything more than 2.8 regardless of any settings. It hard locks the computer, and the logs just show the last completed frame, never any errors or shutdown messages. It usually locks within 2-12 hours.

I have some experience with the 780i, 425 FSB is completely stable, the memory is memtest86 stable, the power supply rails are well within spec, I'm just not getting it.

Anyone else had a similar problem? I'm almost ready to sell it all and shell out the extra bucks to build another 2500k/2600k rig.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2012, 05:00 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Is there safely room for additional volts for the cpu/ram/NB?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2012, 05:38 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Welcome to folding stable. There is benchmark stable and folding stable. Two entirely different beasts for some reason.

Check your voltage on the CPU as ChrisK mentioned, but check your memory speeds and volts also, perhaps something is going sideways.

Use CPUZ to see what your clock is at (if using windows) and CPUZ has a system temp program too, make sure it's not overheating on you.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2012, 06:31 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,249

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rison View Post
Welcome to folding stable. There is benchmark stable and folding stable. Two entirely different beasts for some reason.
Interesting that you mention that. When I overclock I always use folding as my primary stress test.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2012, 06:43 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

I've had WU's fail multiple times on both GPU & SMP folding due to not being FAH stable but fine with prime/furmark.
Try increasing your voltages a smidge and see how that works.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2012, 07:07 AM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 216
Default

I'd agree with what everyone is saying so far, I've had this issue before a few times. I had to do some combination of lower the overclock and up the voltage a smidge. I started with the voltage, if that doesn't work I lower the clock. Folding isn't meant for it but it's a great stress tool!! If I remember some people have "trapped" wu's for this purpose, but I don't remember how it's done.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2012, 01:21 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 164
Default

Yeah, I had thought it was memory at first because it was undervolted, fixed up that and the timings and it didn't help, I already was running the memory a lot slower than it was spec'd for.

I've been running CPU-Z and realtemp the whole time, and nothing is happening that way, I did the vdroop mod so things are pretty stable voltage wise. I've taken all the voltages to the limit of what I consider safe with no change... like the computer is stable around 1.25 vcore but even a test run at 1.4 vcore which is pushing it on 45nm didn't give stability. I may have just found the limit at 2.8ghz but sucks to leave another 10-20% on the table.

I used to have a little farm in the tbred b/barton overclocking days and I have had to back off a little for folding stable but never nearly this much.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2012, 02:31 PM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 216
Default

NB voltage?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2012, 08:58 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 164
Default

Everywhere from maxed to stock, no change.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2012, 02:23 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Strange. Have you tried memtest for 2-3 passes? Might be a bad section of your ram that prime is not hitting, but f@h is.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Game locks up computer foredown Troubleshooting 10 December 18, 2011 08:11 AM
C-11 Digital Locks & Game Industry in Canada LaughingCrow Off Topic 6 December 15, 2011 04:03 PM
System Locks Up Under Load. BLARRRG! FlightlessLobster Troubleshooting 17 November 16, 2011 05:52 PM
Hard Locks Chos3n Troubleshooting 11 October 18, 2011 11:11 PM
Locks up during POST donimo Troubleshooting 26 November 16, 2008 10:26 PM