Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 25, 2012, 01:42 AM
Top Prospect
F@H

Default perplexing FAH hard locks

Been trying to get a second computer worth folding on and am using:

Q9450 w/TRUE120
evga 780i mobo, using NB fan, have remounted NB/SB cooler
corsair hx520 ps, verified rails to be well within spec
4gb OCZ pc-8500 DDR2

I can get the computer stable at 3.4 without too much trouble, temps are alright, will run prime blend for days. Previous to getting the 9450 I had a E2140 @ 3.0 completely stable.

But, FAH won't remain stable at anything more than 2.8 regardless of any settings. It hard locks the computer, and the logs just show the last completed frame, never any errors or shutdown messages. It usually locks within 2-12 hours.

I have some experience with the 780i, 425 FSB is completely stable, the memory is memtest86 stable, the power supply rails are well within spec, I'm just not getting it.

Anyone else had a similar problem? I'm almost ready to sell it all and shell out the extra bucks to build another 2500k/2600k rig.
Old January 25, 2012, 05:00 AM
Folding Captain

My System Specs

Is there safely room for additional volts for the cpu/ram/NB?
Fold for team #54196
Old January 25, 2012, 05:38 AM
Allstar
F@H

My System Specs

Welcome to folding stable. There is benchmark stable and folding stable. Two entirely different beasts for some reason.

Check your voltage on the CPU as ChrisK mentioned, but check your memory speeds and volts also, perhaps something is going sideways.

Use CPUZ to see what your clock is at (if using windows) and CPUZ has a system temp program too, make sure it's not overheating on you.

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Old January 25, 2012, 06:31 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rison View Post