Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2008, 07:12 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

Oh my... what have I done. Pardon my stupidity. ppd is nowhere near 4800. Forget about that. Here are the real, 12+ hours numbers...

Single SMP client: 2400 ppd.
Dual SMP client: 1300 ppd, per client.

My mistake came from the fact that I had 2 clients started, but only one actually working - the second one didn't have the setup completed and its window was reduced to the taskbar... then I saw the number in Fahmon: 2400 ppd...

Sorry for all the buzz about those numbers; I will revise my original thread too with the correct numbers.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2008, 09:59 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Oh my... what have I done. Pardon my stupidity. ppd is nowhere near 4800.
I still wanna E8400.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2008, 10:05 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
I still wanna E8400.
Well, come back in about 1 week, there should be a new FS thread...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2008, 10:34 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

?
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2008, 10:38 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
?
Stay tuned... Lots of parts.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2008, 11:32 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Yahoo!
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2008, 11:38 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

Hmm, I tried running the affinity changer with one instance of the smp client, it did pick up my ppd to 2509 from 2450. That's a 2.5% increase on the exact same settings from 24 hours ago. Seems worthwhile to try it out folks.

3.0, your numbers are from the windows client right? I think you can probably hit 3000 under VMware, I was very close to it.

OT, what are your load temps like under watercooling? Do you really need wc on this chip? I'm maxing out at 47 degrees under load with a cheap cooler.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2008, 01:05 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

Yes, SMP straight into Windows. I'll install VMware and Ubuntu tonight and we'll be able to compare ppds.
As for wc'ing, that chip isn't worth it. I managed 3 successful settings:

1. 8.5x500: load temp of 51C.
2. 9x480: load temp of 47C.
3. 9x445: load temp of 42C.

A good air cooler can manage that heatload rather easily.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2008, 04:32 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

I totally agree that WC is a waste of time on the Wolfdales. Might be different on the new quads when they actually ship. I thought from your sig that you were WC'ing this chip.

My 24/7 folding is at 9x445, load temps max of 45 deg. I can't seem to get this system 100% stable at any higher FSB. Get the occasional random reboot. Besides, I'm happy to pull 4.0 GHz out of this chip, considering my E6400 was running at 2.7.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2008, 04:58 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

But it is Water Cooled... and that's my point. There isn't enough heatload to make a WC system worthwhile.

I know the DS3L quite well. Past 450FSB, you need both Vcore and VMCH. What cooling do you have on top of the NB?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New HCF folding members please post here for intro and tag requests! pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 1016 March 10, 2014 03:07 PM
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 08:24 PM
Newbie GPU Folding Shredder HardwareCanucks F@H Team 11 February 24, 2008 09:55 PM
Two folding machines Amon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 16 September 14, 2007 04:05 AM
Countdown - HCF Folding team to the top 800? 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 18 August 8, 2007 06:10 AM