Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #171 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2012, 12:30 PM
vbironchef's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 40
Default

rommelrommel, down clocking I guess would work. I feel that F@H should take care of the issue on their end.

lechumbl, I am still able to get a stray big-adv. on my I7 860. They finish with 53% time remaining. So a 8 core, 16 core with hyper threading should not have a problem. Don't know how to make quotes on this forum yet, sorry about that. I hope you don't mind me joining the forum, my team hardly makes any posts for F@H. It's nice to have feedback and advice and something in common.

Last edited by vbironchef; March 10, 2012 at 03:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #172 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2012, 03:37 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

I have a different line on some 2p servers , for almost free ( 12 beer)..

Here's to hoping . I really need a linux client....it's the only one I don't run.Hehehe

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #173 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2012, 03:48 PM
vbironchef's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainEater View Post
I have a different line on some 2p servers , for almost free ( 12 beer)..

Here's to hoping . I really need a linux client....it's the only one I don't run.Hehehe

I have been reading most of everyone's posts for a while now.

If you read my latest thread, I am having second thoughts building another rig. I figure, what's the point.

I thought this was folding @ home? That team and person can carry the rest of us.
Reply With Quote
  #174 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2012, 04:04 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

Nah.....that's nothing.Best single user to date is HPCS ( Hewlett Packard Cloud Service ) . 36 Million PPD .

....But even that is insignificant really.

Here's the current total stats for folding ;

Folding@home team stats pages

----

The research is still taking years .

Every client you bring online helps.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #175 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2012, 04:14 PM
vbironchef's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 40
Default

I guess so. I have been folding since 03.31.07 so I guess I'm surprised to be passed up so soon.
Reply With Quote
  #176 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2012, 01:33 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

Ok fatasses !!

Picked this up today to play around with (nearly free) :



---

Not even sure if it works yet , it's on the bench.Proliant ML370 g4 dual Xeons....

...And there's a couple more 2p rig from what I see at my friends house.

I have asked him to join HWC.He has more used stuff than me by 10x.

-------

Best part : Allynch1 (my friend) has a GIANT pile of untested motherboards.....I know there's people here' looking for em.

We're gonna setup a sale thread.

>and with a little luck , he'll start folding too....

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #177 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2012, 02:10 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

I finally have a linux box !!

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #178 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2012, 02:35 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Is there really 6 80mil screamers in there? And as long as you have an Intel NIC, you'll be fine to use Linux. Install Xrdp, then simply use 7's RDC to use the box remotely.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #179 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2012, 02:47 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

Haw !!

It's actually 6x 92 mm screamers.Wow......I thought my main rig was loud , this thing is a tornado.

I don't know much about it , I'm going thru it now.All I know , is the model number , and bios says both procs boot.I also have the manual/specs.



edit :

It's this machine : HP ProLiant ML370 Generation 4 - Worldwide QuickSpecs

Procs register as 3.4 Ghz.....There's 2 Gb of ecc ram in it , and a LOT of 320 scsi stuff....
__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...

Last edited by BrainEater; March 12, 2012 at 03:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #180 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2012, 03:27 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Ah! You didn't know?

You may need more ram, even running SMP.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battle Of the Bulbs : The Brown Out _dangtx_ Off Topic 3 May 31, 2011 02:33 AM
Battle: Los Angeles mo' power Gaming 9 March 14, 2011 05:12 PM
Ottawa Lan Battle Royale odis172 Canadian LAN Parties & Events 2 October 26, 2010 10:59 PM
T.I.M battle – Old vs. New burebista Reviews & Articles from the Web 2 October 8, 2010 12:39 AM
The battle begins - Win7 x64 Dr_BenD_over O/S's, Drivers & General Software 40 May 6, 2010 11:22 AM